International Contemporary Art

 

Free admission

Jean-Noël Desmarais Pavilion - Level S2

 

ABSTRACTION

Freed from the need to represent visible reality in a literal way, abstraction revolutionized art in the early 20th century. In a movement that was nonfigurative by definition, questions of representation still remained at the heart of the artists' concerns. Each painter was free to create his or her own language, made up of "signs" as a way of translating emotions or sensations. Californian Sam Francis was particularly influenced by Monet's enormous Water Lily paintings on permanent display at the Musée de l'Orangerie in Paris. From the later French Impressionist paintings he borrowed his sense of scale, purity of colour and sensitivity to the fluidity of light, which he never ceased to explore in his large-format paintings. German painter Gerhard Richter demonstrates a critical fascination with ways of constructing an image, resulting in his exploration of both abstraction and representation. Consequently, he occupies a unique position in the history of 20th-century painting. The French painter Pierre Soulages coined the term "L'Outrenoir" in 1979. For the most part he freed himself from the use of brushes, favouring palette knives and spatulas to spread the black on the canvas: "What you see in my paintings is light transformed, transmuted by the black. This is a light that comes from the wall towards the viewer."

 

REPRESENTATION

In the early 1980s, some New York artists, tired of the rigours of abstract and conceptual art, re-introduced the human subject into the heart of their work. Mark Tansey advocated a return to representational painting. By entitling his canvas Action Painting II, Tansey mocks the term that American critic Harold Rosenberg coined to describe the physical involvement in their painting of gestural abstraction artists like Jackson Pollock. George Segal, an admirer of Rembrandt, highlights his figures by applying the chiaroscuro principle to his sculptures. Jean-Michel Basquiat, by spending time on the street and beginning as a graffiti artist, forged his own personal style. Basquiat, of Haitian and Puerto Rican origin, died of an overdose at the age 27. In the early 1980s, he signed his early works with the pseudonym of "SAMO" (Same Old Shit). Dense surfaces, written words, collages and skeletal characters were his trademark. Soon, Basquiat had established himself in the avant-garde culture of the time, becoming friends with Andy Warhol and the stars of the underground.

 

CONTEMPORARY ART: BETWEEN CONSCIOUSNESS AND VIOLENCE

Now more than ever, reality in all its forms supplants illusion and the conventions of representation. This is sociological art, in which hyper-realism of the kind found in Tony Matelli's work is used more as a metaphor than as mere imitation. The American artist depicts two starving monkeys mercilessly attacking an obese chimpanzee, to illustrate the bestial nature of our social behaviour: the poor elements of society taking revenge on their over-fed neighbours. Other contemporary artists respond to this hyped-up realism by appropriating images from everyday life, then recycling them into political messages. Los Carpinteros, a group working in Havana, used the shape of a grenade – symbol of the armed Cuban struggle and its revolution – in creating a chest of drawers for storing its memories, a failed relic of a now obsolete culture. The artists take a shock approach that they explain in this way: "We've discovered that behind the functionality of objects made by humans, there are cracks that reveal thoughts and behaviours." Robert Longo's work, which exhibits a much more tragic dimension, is governed by darkness. The blackness has an almost morbid power of attraction, heightened by the monumental size of his charcoal drawings on paper.

Art contemporain international

 

Entrée libre

Pavillon Jean-Noël Desmarais, niveau S2

 

ABSTRACTIONS

Affranchie de la représentation mimétique de la réalité visible, l'abstraction révolutionne l'art au début du XXe siècle. Dans ce mouvement non figuratif par définition, les enjeux de la représentation résident tout de même au cœur des préoccupations des artistes. Chaque peintre est libre d'imaginer son propre langage, composé de « signes » pour traduire ses émotions ou ses sensations. Le Californien Sam Francis fut particulièrement influencé par les gigantesques Nymphéas peints par Monet et exposés en permanence au musée de l'Orangerie à Paris. Sam Francis doit aux peintures tardives de l'impressionniste français son sens de l'échelle, de la couleur pure, et une sensibilité à la fluidité de la lumière qu'il n'a de  cesse d'explorer dans ses grands formats. L'Allemand Gerhard Richter manifeste une fascination critique pour les modes de construction de l'image ce qui le conduit à explorer tout autant l'abstraction que la figuration. Il occupe de ce fait une position unique dans l'histoire de la peinture du XXe siècle. Le Français Pierre Soulages adopte, en 1979, ce qu'il baptise « l'Outrenoir ». Il s'émancipe de l'utilisation du pinceau au profit du couteau et de la spatule pour étaler la peinture : « Ce que l'on voit devant mes toiles, c'est de la lumière transformée, transmutée par le noir. Il s'agit d'une lumière qui vient du mur vers celui qui regarde. »

 

FIGURATIONS

Au début des années 1980, lassés des rigueurs de l'abstraction expressionniste ou conceptuelle, des artistes new-yorkais réintroduisent le sujet humain au cœur de leur travail. Mark Tansey est un des chantres de ce retour à la figuration. En intitulant sa toile Action Painting II, il ironise sur le terme inventé par le critique américain Harold Rosenberg pour décrire l'engagement physique dans la peinture des artistes de l'abstraction gestuelle tels Jackson Pollock. Admirateur de Rembrandt, George Segal fait émerger des figures en clair-obscur dans ses sculptures. En fréquentant la rue et les graffeurs, Jean-Michel Basquiat s'est lui forgé un style autrement personnel. Mort à 27 ans d'une overdose, Basquiat est d'origine haïtienne et portoricaine. Au début des années 1980, il signe ses premières toiles sous le pseudonyme de « SAMO » (Same Old Shit) : surfaces denses, écritures, collages et personnages squelettiques seront sa marque de fabrique. Très vite, Basquiat s'est fait une place dans la culture avant-gardiste de l'époque, devient l'ami d'Andy Warhol et des stars de l'underground.

 

ART ACTUEL : ENTRE CONSCIENCE ET VIOLENCE

Plus que jamais aujourd'hui, le réel sous toutes ses formes prend le pas sur l'illusion et les conventions de la représentation. De l'art sociologique où l'hyperréalisme comme celui rencontré chez Tony Matelli sert davantage la métaphore que l'imitation pure et simple. L'artiste américain représente trois singes affamés, engagés dans l'attaque mortelle d'un chimpanzé obèse pour signaler le caractère bestial de nos comportements sociaux. C'est ici la revanche d'une société pauvre sur ses voisins gavés. À cet hyperréalisme truqué répond chez certains contemporains l'appropriation des images du quotidien qu'ils détournent et recyclent en autant de messages politiques : d'une grenade, symbole de la lutte armée cubaine et de sa révolution, le collectif Los Carpinteros, actif à La Havane, a fait un coffre pour ranger ses souvenirs, la relique échouée d'une propagande devenue obsolète. Une démarche choc que les artistes expliquent ainsi : « Nous avons découvert que derrière la fonctionnalité des objets fabriqués par l'être humain, il y a des fissures qui trahissent les pensées et son comportement. » Affichant au contraire une dimension nettement plus tragique, l'œuvre de Robert Longo est, elle, gouvernée par le noir. Ce noir de cendres confère un pouvoir d'attraction quasi morbide accentué par le format monumental de ses fusains sur papier.