Modern Art, from Daumier to Picasso

 

Free admission

Jean-Noël Desmarais Pavilion - Level 1

 

THE ROMANTIC SENTIMENT

Defying the rigour advocated by classical painters, preferring line and colour as well as stable and balanced forms, the Romantic artists were poorly received in their time. They were considered too bold, their style too free and subject matter too elusive.

 

IMPRESSIONISM BY THE WATER

The water is alive; it splashes on the hulls of ships sailing on the river; it has just washed up on the shingle beaches. One of the most beautiful expressions of the Impressionist style is found in scenes of water. More than just a way of painting, Impressionism was also a way of living. With the invention of tubes of paint, artists could set up their easels outdoors in Île-de-France or on the coast of Normandy and paint from nature. The shimmering reflections on the water allowed them to capture fleeting atmospheric effects. Afflicted with eye problems at the end of his life, Camille Pissarro took refuge on the first floor of a hotel room in Rouen to capture, on canvas after canvas, the beauty of river traffic, raising it to the level of art. Claude Monet, exalted by the surf, would paint his series of "cliff" canvases at different times of the day, varying the intensity of the light. Sirens are a favourite motif in Auguste Rodin's body of work. Monet and Rodin, two geniuses of their time, would exhibit together at the gallery of Georges Petit, a great promoter of Impressionism.

 

MODERN ART

In the early 20th century, modernity, seen as a corollary to the progress of civilization, swept away all artistic dogmas, putting paid to one aesthetic revolution after another. On the canvases of the day, colours and shapes were no longer required to imitate nature and could offer a rich panoply of expressions. Lyonel Feininger, a violinist, caricaturist and painter, lived through the various stages of this epic upheaval. An American of German origin, he resided for a while in Paris and exhibited at the Salon des Indépendants, where he discovered Cubism. In 1912, he spent time among the famous groups of German Expressionists known as "Die Brücke" (The Bridge) and "Blaue Reiter" (Blue Rider) alongside the abstract painters Klee and Kandinsky. After the World War I he joined the Bauhaus, the institute of arts and crafts founded by Walter Gropius in Weimar in 1919. Although close to the Fauves, the French Expressionist Georges Rouault traced a solitary career. He was passionate about the circus, and here he portrays acrobats in colours outlined in black, a characteristic of the style of this former apprentice glass painter. At the same time, Matisse's palette was flourishing in Nice. Using one of his favourite motifs, the window, Matisse beckons the Mediterranean coast into his studio apartment. Meanwhile, Fernand Léger was developing the syntax for a new pictorial language in which the canvas does not explain the world, but expresses movement and power through sharply defined images.

 

PORTRAITS BETWEEN THE WARS

Portrait-painting experienced a revival in Europe in the 1920s because the face of society had changed after the disaster of World War I. Traumatized and disillusioned, people rejected the old order to celebrate youth and modernity – the euphoria of the "Roaring Twenties." Otto Dix, obsessed with the horrors he had witnessed in the trenches, adopted an implacably realistic style. He founded the German movement "New Objectivity," firmly denouncing the social unrest that prevailed in the fledgling Weimar Republic. In order to thank Hugo Simons, an art lover and Jewish lawyer who had brilliantly defended his artistic freedom in a trial against dissatisfied client, Dix affectionately portrayed him as an intelligent and vital man.

 

TWO GIANTS: PICASSO AND MOORE

Two mature works, two men in love, two great artists of the last century, exalting at the ages of 90 and 80, respectively, in carnal love. Since his youth, Picasso had often portrayed his erotic passions on canvas. The Catalan master said he wanted to "express the nude, not just make a nude like a nude, express a breast, express a foot, a hand, belly…" At a time when conceptual art and minimalism were dominating the art world, these silhouettes are disturbing, foreshadowing the daubings of graffiti artists or the loose style of a Basquiat. British sculptor Henry Moore, who shared Picasso's penchant for the female figure and sensuality, took his inspiration from so called "primitive" cultures, notably that of the Toltec. Moore also gleaned scraps from everyday life (stones, bones, etc.) to build his monumental sculptures with organic shapes inspired by nature.

L'art moderne, de Daumier à Picasso

 

Entrée libre

Pavillon Jean-Noël Desmarais, niveau 1

 

LE SENTIMENT ROMANTIQUE

Défiant la rigueur prônée par les peintres classiques – préférant la ligne et la couleur, la forme stable et équilibrée –, les artistes romantiques ont été mal accueillis en leur temps, jugés trop audacieux, leur style trop libre et leur sujet trop insaisissable.

 

L'IMPRESSIONNISME AU FIL DE L'EAU

L'eau est vivante : elle clapote sur la coque des navires voguant sur les cours d'eau, elle vient s'échouer sur les galets des plages. L'impressionnisme trouve dans les décors aquatiques une de ses plus belles expressions. Plus qu'un art de peindre, ce mouvement fut aussi un art de vivre. Sur les côtes normandes comme en Île-de-France, les artistes plantent leur chevalet en pleine nature pour peindre sur le motif, grâce à l'invention des tubes de peinture. Les reflets miroitants de l'eau leur permettent de capter de fugaces jeux atmosphériques. Atteint de troubles oculaires à la fin de sa vie, Camille Pissarro se réfugie au premier étage d'une chambre d'hôtel de Rouen pour capter, toile après toile, la beauté du trafic fluvial qu'il érige au rang d'art. Exalté par le ressac de la mer, Claude Monet peindra ses « Falaises » en série à différentes heures du jour, faisant varier l'intensité de la lumière. Les Sirènes constituent un motif favori du répertoire sculpté d'Auguste Rodin. Monet et Rodin, deux  génies en leur temps, exposeront ensemble à la galerie Georges Petit, grand promoteur de l'impressionnisme.

 

L'ART MODERNE

Au début du XXe siècle, la modernité, considérée comme le corollaire du progrès de la civilisation, anéantit tous les dogmes artistiques, d'une révolution esthétique à une autre. Sur la toile, couleurs et formes s'affranchissent de l'imitation de la nature et offrent une riche pluralité d'expressions. Violoniste, caricaturiste et peintre, Lyonel Feininger vit les étapes de cette épopée. Cet Américain d'ascendance germanique séjourne à Paris et expose au Salon des Indépendants où il découvre le cubisme. En 1912, il fréquente les groupes fameux des expressionnistes allemands de Die Brücke [le pont] et du Blaue Reiter [cavalier bleu] aux côtés des peintres abstraits, Klee et Kandinsky. Après la guerre, il rejoint le Bauhaus, le nouvel institut des arts et des métiers fondé par Walter Gropius à Weimar en 1919. Proche des Fauves, Georges Rouault traverse son siècle en solitaire. Passionné de cirque, cet expressionniste français représente des acrobates aux couleurs cernées de noir, une caractéristique de cet ancien apprenti verrier. Parallèlement, la palette de Matisse s'épanouit à Nice. Jouant d'un de ses motifs favoris – la fenêtre – le peintre convie les rivages méditerranéens dans son appartement-atelier. Tandis que Fernand Léger élabore la syntaxe d'un nouveau langage pictural où le tableau n'explique pas le monde mais en exprime mouvement et puissance au moyen d'images nettes.

 

PORTRAITS DE L'ENTRE-DEUX-GUERRES

Le portrait connaît un renouveau dans l'Europe des années 1920. Car le visage de la société a changé après le désastre de la Première guerre. Traumatisée, désabusée, elle rejette l'ordre ancien pour célébrer la modernité et la jeunesse : c'est l'euphorie des Années folles. Obsédé par les horreurs vécues au Front, Otto Dix adopte un style au réalisme implacable. Fondateur parmi d'autres du mouvement allemand « La Nouvelle Objectivité », il dénonce sans complaisance le malaise social régnant dans la jeune république de Weimar. Pour remercier l'amateur d'art et l'avocat juif Hugo Simons, qui défendit avec brio sa liberté artistique lors d'un procès contre un mauvais payeur, Otto Dix dépeint avec amitié un homme vif et intelligent.

 

DEUX GÉANTS PICASSO ET MOORE

Deux œuvres de maturité, deux hommes amoureux, deux immenses artistes du siècle exaltant à 90 ans et à 80 ans l'amour charnel. Depuis sa jeunesse, Picasso a souvent couché sur la toile ses passions érotiques. Le maître catalan expliquait vouloir « dire le nu, pas seulement faire un nu comme un nu [...] dire sein, dire pied, dire main, ventre ». Alors que dominent sur la scène artistique l'art conceptuel et le minimalisme, ces silhouettes dérangent. Elles préfigurent pourtant les recherches des graffiteurs ou la figuration libre d'un Basquiat. Partageant le même goût pour la figure féminine et la sensualité, le sculpteur britannique Henry Moore puise dès ses débuts dans les cultures primitives, notamment toltèque. Il regarde aussi et glane les rebuts du quotidien (cailloux, os) pour ériger ses sculptures monumentales dont les formes organiques s'inspirent de la nature.