Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion of Quebec and Canadian Art

 

Free admission

 

Each of the pavilion's six levels spotlights a historical period for which a specifically designed presentation enables a better understanding and appreciation of Quebec and Canadian art.

 

Level 4 - Inuit art is presented in a gallery adjoining a glass court featuring natural lighting from above and a panoramic view of Mount Royal. Soaring walls evocative of the polar ice pack and icebergs are the backdrop to the pieces in this collection, placed in modular display units whose straight lines, like the rays of light entering from the portholes along the gallery entrance, contrast with the artworks' organic forms.

The Museum wishes to thank Hydro-Québec for supporting the presentation of Inuit art on this level.

 

Level 3 - Founding Identities (1700s–1870s) features the beginnings of Canadian art. The art of Canada's First Nations, both historical and contemporary, is included on this level of the pavilion in order to highlight their critical look back at their contacts with the Europeans who came to settle the country. Two alcoves present the Museum's collection of silver, like the treasures of two chapels; a moving wooden roadside cross stands at the gallery entrance, while, further on, a showcase featuring the heritage of the Northwest Coast calls to mind Canada's vast stretches of forest.

The Museum wishes to acknowledge Power Corporation of Canada's contribution to the presentation of the collection in this gallery.

 

Level 2 - The Era of Annual Exhibitions (1880s–1920s) provides an interpretation of the first annual exhibitions of Canadian art held at the Museum. This section enhances the Museum's major holdings of works by Ozias Leduc, James Wilson Morrice and Alfred Laliberté. Here, paintings hung one above the other in the style of the salon style are combined with many sculptures placed along a platform. In addition, a simulation of an artist's studio features a wall of oil sketches and a display case showing plaster casts and terracotta models.

The Museum thanks Reitmans (Canada) Limited for making it possible to present works from our heritage in this gallery.

 

Level 1 - Towards Modernism (1920s–1930s) reveals the first groupings of modern artists. With a space opening out on a dynamic perspective that splits the area in two, adorned on one side by intimate alcoves recalling the time when commercial art galleries played a dominant role, this gallery reflects a multiplicity of viewpoints. A special space is reserved in this area for the works of Marc-Aurèle Fortin.

The Museum recognizes the National Bank of Canada for its contribution to the presentation of the collection on this level.

 

Level S1 - The Age of the Manifesto (1940s–1960s) fosters an appreciation of the works by those artists who signed the Prisme d'Yeux, Refus global or Manifeste des Plasticiens, and the Museum's remarkable holdings of art by the major figures of the period, including Alfred Pellan, Paul-Émile Borduas and Jean-Paul Riopelle. An entire gallery is devoted to Riopelle from his Automatiste period up until the 1970s. These open-concept galleries will serve as a powerful reflection of the provocative generation that wanted to reinvent the world.

The Museum is grateful to Andrée and Pierre H. Lessard for their valuable support, which has permitted the presentation of these works on this level.

 

Level S2 - Expanding Fields (1960s–1970s) presents impressive works by, among others, a mature Riopelle – including The Ice Canoe (1992) – Louis Archambault, Greg Curnoe, Jean McEwen, Guido Molinari, Michael Snow and Claude Tousignant. This huge, completely open 45-metre-long gallery, which can also be viewed from the mezzanine of the floor above, sets the stage for the works from this period, monumental in terms of both their size and international calibre. This exhibition space, called the Mountain Gallery, links the Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion to the rest of the Museum complex.

The Museum would like to thank the J. A. Bombardier Foundation for its support of the creation of this gallery.

 

 

© Photo Bernard Fougères

Pavillon d'art québécois et canadien

Claire et Marc Bourgie

 

Entrée libre

Chacun des six niveaux met en valeur une période historique pour laquelle une proposition muséographique distincte facilite aujourd'hui, pour la première fois, la lecture et l'appréciation de l'art québécois et canadien.

Niveau 4 - L'art inuit est présenté dans une salle contiguë à une verrière qui bénéficie d'un éclairage zénithal et offre une vue panoramique sur le mont Royal. De grandes murales élancées évoquant la banquise et des icebergs isolent les collections qui sont installées dans des modules rectilignes, en contraste avec les œuvres aux formes organiques, comme des rayons de lumière qui proviendraient des meurtrières de la paroi d'entrée.

Le Musée tient à remercier Hydro-Québec pour son soutien à la mise en valeur de l'art inuit sur ce niveau.

Niveau 3 - Les identités fondatrices (années 1700-1870) exposent les œuvres de la période coloniale constituant les débuts de l'art canadien; l'art autochtone, historique et contemporain, y est intégré pour faire valoir le regard critique et rétrospectif des Premières Nations sur leurs contacts avec les Euro-Canadiens. Deux alcôves reçoivent la collection d'orfèvrerie tels deux trésors de chapelles; une émouvante croix de chemin en bois s'impose à l'entrée de la salle tandis que plus loin, une vitrine mettant en valeur le patrimoine de la côte du Nord-Ouest, évoque la forêt.

Le Musée salue la contribution de Power Corporation du Canada pour la mise en valeur de la collection dans cette galerie.

Niveau 2 - L'époque des Salons (années 1880-1920) offre une interprétation des premières expositions annuelles d'art canadien tenues au Musée. Cette section valorise les fonds majeurs d'œuvres d'Ozias Leduc, de James Wilson Morrice ou d'Alfred Laliberté. À un accrochage d'œuvres superposées de type Salon est associée une plateforme où dominent les sculptures. L'atelier d'artiste est aussi réinterprété avec un mur d'esquisses à l'huile et des vitrines d'ébauches en terre cuite et en plâtre.

Le Musée remercie Reitmans (Canada) limitée d'avoir permis la présentation des œuvres de notre patrimoine dans cette galerie.

Niveau 1 - Les chemins de la modernité (années 1920-1930) dévoilent les premiers regroupements d'artistes modernes. Avec un espace qui s'ouvre par une perspective dynamique scindant son volume en deux, agrémenté sur un côté d'alcôves intimistes qui rappellent une période où dominent les galeries marchandes, cette galerie témoigne d'une multiplicité de points de vue. Un espace particulier est réservé à Marc-Aurèle Fortin.

Le Musée est reconnaissant à la Banque Nationale du Canada pour sa contribution à la mise en valeur de la collection de cet étage.

Niveau S1 - Le temps des manifestes (années 1940-1960) favorise l'appréciation d'œuvres des membres signataires de Prisme d'Yeux, du Refus global ou du Manifeste des Plasticiens, ainsi que celles des fonds exceptionnels de certaines de leurs figures majeures, tels Alfred Pellan, Paul-Émile Borduas et Jean-Paul Riopelle. Ce dernier bénéficie d'une salle dédiée à ses œuvres de la période automatiste jusqu'aux années 1970. Ici, le dégagement des espaces donne toute sa force aux provocations d'une génération qui voulait réinventer le monde.

Le Musée exprime toute sa gratitude à Andrée et Pierre H. Lessard pour leur précieux soutien ayant permis la présentation des œuvres de ce niveau.

Niveau S2 - Les champs libres (années 1960 et 1970) présentent, entre autres, les œuvres imposantes du Riopelle de maturité, dont Le Canot à glace (1992), mais aussi de Louis Archambault, Greg Curnoe, Jean McEwen, Guido Molinari, Michael Snow et Claude Tousignant. L'ouverture sans entrave de cette vaste galerie de 45 mètres de long qui se donne aussi à voir, en contrebas d'une mezzanine à l'étage précédent, donne le ton à cette période de pièces monumentales, à la fois par leurs dimensions physiques et leur stature internationale. Cette salle d'exposition, baptisée la Galerie de la montagne, relie par souterrain le pavillon Claire et Marc Bourgie aux autres pavillons du Musée.

Le Musée tient à remercier la Fondation J. A. Bombardier pour son appui à la réalisation de cette galerie.

 

 

© Photo Bernard Fougères