The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts has one of the highest attendance rates among Canadian museums. Every year, over 1 million people visit its unique encyclopedic and its original temporary exhibitions, which combine artistic disciplines (fine arts, music, film, fashion, design) and feature innovative exhibition designs. It conceives, produces and circulates many of its exhibitions across Europe and North America.

Over 200,000 families and schoolchildren take part in its educational, cultural and community-oriented programmes each year. The fall of 2011 saw the opening of a fourth pavilion at the Museum – the Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion of Quebec and Canadian Art – and a 444-seat concert venue – Bourgie Hall – housing an outstanding collection of Tiffany stained glass windows. This expansion also brought about the reinstallation of the Museum’s rich holdings in its other three pavilions, which house the world cultures, international art, Medieval to contemporary European art, and decorative art and design collections. Music is now an integral part of the Museum, providing another perspective on the visual arts, through musical audioguides and other innovative activities.

The Studios Art & Education Michel de la Chenelière, which were inaugurated in 2012, have almost doubled the Museum’s facilities for schools, families and community groups. A fifth pavilion devoted to international art and education will open its doors in 2017 for Montreal’s 375th anniversary.

Outstanding gift
of the Michal and Renata Hornstein Collection of Old Masters
/image/image_gallery?uuid=f8af2dc7-55cc-49f3-ae62-62fcc1aea5eb&groupId=10367&t=1348777832326
Director's Report
/image/image_gallery?uuid=61afd168-fa84-4a10-94ca-ee123815966a&groupId=10367&t=1359650512208
Mission and History
Volunteer Association of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
Learn More
Volunteer Guides
Learn More
Board of Trustees
Architecture
Unveiling

Future
5th Pavilion
Press release
/image/image_gallery?uuid=c7d59cb6-d003-40ee-9a09-266451f383c1&groupId=10367&t=1374784873916

Le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal est l'un des musées les plus fréquentés au Canada. Annuellement, plus de 1 000 000 personnes visitent sa collection encyclopédique unique au Canada et ses expositions temporaires originales, croisant les disciplines artistiques (beaux-arts, musique, cinéma, mode, design), mises en valeur par des scénographies atypiques. Il conçoit, produit et met en tournée en Europe et en Amérique plusieurs de ses expositions.

Près de 200 000 familles, écoliers et personnes à besoins particuliers participent chaque année à ses programmes éducatifs, culturels et communautaires. L'année 2011 a marqué l'ouverture d'un quatrième pavillon, consacré exclusivement à l'art québécois et canadien – le pavillon Claire et Marc Bourgie – et d'une salle de concert de 444 places intégrant une rare collection de vitraux Tiffany – la salle Bourgie. Les riches collections du Musée sont déployées dans ses trois autres pavillons dédiés aux cultures du monde, à l'art européen ancien et contemporain, aux arts décoratifs et au design. Enfin, le Musée intègre désormais la musique pour que ses visiteurs puissent découvrir autrement les arts visuels grâce à des promenades musicales et autres activités inédites.

Les Studios Art & Éducation Michel de la Chenelière, inaugurés en 2012, ont presque doublé les espaces destinés aux écoles, aux familles et aux groupes communautaires. Enfin, un cinquième bâtiment, le Pavillon pour la Paix Michal et Renata Hornstein, consacré à l'art international et à l'éducation, ouvrira ses portes en 2017 pour le 375e anniversaire de Montréal.

Don exceptionnel
de la collection de maîtres anciens de Michal et Renata Hornstein
/image/image_gallery?uuid=f8af2dc7-55cc-49f3-ae62-62fcc1aea5eb&groupId=10367&t=1348777832326
Mot de la directrice
/image/image_gallery?uuid=61afd168-fa84-4a10-94ca-ee123815966a&groupId=10367&t=1359650512208
Mission et historique
Association des bénévoles du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
En savoir plus
Les guides-bénévoles
En savoir plus
Conseil d'administration
Dévoilement de
l'architecture

Futur
Pavillon 5
Communiqué
/image/image_gallery?uuid=c7d59cb6-d003-40ee-9a09-266451f383c1&groupId=10367&t=1374784873916