2012

JEAN PAUL GAULTIER EXHIBITION HONOURED AT IDCA AWARD IN NEW YORK CITY

Last June, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts came away with two honours at the International Design and Communication Awards in New York City, beating 67 other museum candidates to win "Best Exhibition Strategy" and earning Silver in "Best Exhibition Layout" for the exhibition The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk.The judges that chose the MMFA came from 15 countries, including the United States, Canada, Australia, Brazil, France, Germany, the United Kingdom, Norway, Croatia, Malaysia and India.

 

COMMUNICATION ARTS DESIGN ANNUAL - USA

"Best of" Exhibition Books/Catalogues/Tom Wesselmann

 

CANNES LIONS - FRANCE

Shortlisted – Book Design/The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk

 

D&AD- USA

D&AD represents the global creative, design and advertising communities and celebrates brilliance in commercial creativity. Book/Book Front Cover/The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk

 

GRAFIKA - QUEBEC

The Grafika Awards recognize the best works in graphic design in Quebec. Grand Prize/Book/The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk

 

ARTS/BUSINESS PERSONALITY AWARD

This past May, Museum patron Pierre Bourgie won the 2012 Arts/Business Personality Award, given by the The Board of Trade of Metropolitan Montreal and the Conseil des arts de Montréal in recognition of his unflagging commitment to Montreal's cultural scene. Pierre Bourgie has greatly contributed financially to the construction of the MMFA's new pavilion of Quebec and Canadian art and to the transformation of the American and Erskine Church into a concert hall.

 

BOVEY AWARD FOR PIERRE BOURGIE

The Annual Business for the Arts Awards honour Canada's foremost business leaders and companies who support the arts. In 2012, it was Pierre Bourgie, President of the Arte Musica Foundation, major patron of the Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion and Bourgie Hall, and member of the MMFA's Board of Trustees, who was awarded this prize. We congratulate him and thank him for his exemplary involvement in the life of our Museum and our city.

 

AWARD FOR EXCELLENCE FROM THE CANADIAN MUSEUMS ASSOCIATION

On April 25, 2012, at the annual conference of the CMA in Gatineau, Quebec, the MMFA's exhibition The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk won the Outstanding Achievement Award in the "Exhibitions" category. 

Dr. Sean B. Murphy, the MMFA's Honorary President, also received an award that evening. The 2012 Museum Volunteer Award was presented to him by the Canadian Museums Association and the Canadian Federation of Friends of Museums. This award recognizes volunteers for their continuous years of commitment and service to heritage institutions. The jury was unanimous in recognizing Dr. Murphy's remarkable dedication to the MMFA and his distinguished role in the museum field at provincial, national and international levels.

 

GRAND PRIX DU TOURISME FOR NATHALIE BONDIL

On March 28, the highest of the Grands Prix du tourisme québécois, the Grand Ulysse trophy, was awarded to Nathalie Bondil, Director and Chief Curator of the MMFA, who has distinguished herself by her determination to endow the Museum with a fourth pavilion devoted exclusively to Quebec and Canadian art and by implementing programmes aimed at making the Museum accessible to all.
2011

GRAND PRIX DU DESIGN

As part of the 5th edition of the Grands Prix du Design, a competition that recognizes the exceptional work of Quebec designers and architects in the fields of interior design and product design, Provencher Roy + Associés was crowned twice for their architectural work on the Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion of Quebec and Canadian Art, of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts. The firm won both 2011 Project of the Year and Best Public Building, in the public places and institutional spaces category.

 

NATHALIE BONDIL HONOURED TWICE FOR HER CONTRIBUTIONS

In June, Nathalie Bondil, MMFA Director and Chief Curator, was named a Knight by the National Order of Quebec, and was awarded Insigna of Merit from the University of Montreal's Faculty of Arts and Sciences in recognition of her remarkable work at the Museum.

 

COUPE INTERNATIONAL DESIGN AND IMAGE COMPETITION - CANADA

Prize/book/The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk

 

SMQ PUBLICATION AWARDS

Société des musées québécois


The jury gave the 2011 Publication Award to The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier: From the Sidewalk to the Catwalk, published by the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA), in collaboration with Abrams and Éditions de la Martinière. Members of the jury determined that this publication was an eloquent – even spectacular – embodiment of the excellence of standards required to render homage to this internationally-renowned designer known as the "enfant terrible" of fashion. With a print run of over 30,000 copies, this monumental publication – and exceptional exhibition catalogue – traces the designer's thirty-five year career, whom the Museum Director describes as a "humanist couturier."

Featuring a unique concept, this work has over fifty exclusive testimonials by personalities – oftentimes artists – who have come into contact with Gaultier or for whom the designer has created the haute couture look that helped define them. Although this catalogue equals its subject's flair, it also contains editorial content on the history of fashion. The Fashion World of Jean Paul Gaultier is a true art book, with 424 pages, 550 illustrations and a remarkable box sleeve. Under the editorship of Thierry-Maxime Loriot, exhibition curator, this publication was developed, created, produced and printed in Quebec, and overseen by the MMFA Publishing Department.



2011 REAL ESTATE AWARDS OF EXCELLENCE
(Commercial Category)

Urban Development Institute of Quebec

Provencher Roy + Associés, the architecture firm responsible for transforming and converting the Erskine and American Church into a Pavilion for Quebec and Canadian Art, was recognized for the avant-garde architectural vision, the exceptional urban integration and the deft combination of past and future in their architectural design for the pavilion. The jury also appreciated the firm's commitment to preserve and restore, while still respecting the principles of sustainable development.

2010

CANADIAN ARCHITECT
AWARDS OF MERIT

Provencher Roy + Associés, Architectes, Pavilion of Quebec and Canadian Art at Montreal Museum of Fine Arts

The Canadian Architect Awards of Excellence have been given out each year since 1968 to recognize architects who have excelled in their design work. In 2010, Provencher Roy + Associés was so honoured by a jury including Janna Levitt (Levitt Goodman Architects, Toronto), James Cheng (James KM Cheng Architects, Vancouver) and Andrew King (Cannon Design, Toronto).



AWARD OF EXCELLENCE - EXHIBITION

Société des musées québécois

The Société des musées québécois (SMQ) recognized the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts with an Award of Excellence for the exhibition Tiffany Glass: A Passion for Colour. According to the press release, it is written that the jury unanimously agreed that this exhibition had vastly exceeded the museum milieu's current standards.


GRAFIKA

Award: Cultural poster (single)

8 x Allemagne

Agency: orangetango


Award: Four-colour annual report

The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts

Agency: orangetango

Award: Magazine
Urbania - Denis Gagnon
Agency: Feed

2012

PRIX SMQ 2012 : PRIX EXCELLENCE – GROUPE INSTITUTIONNEL 1

Le Prix Excellence a été décerné au Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal pour la réalisation de son nouveau pavillon Claire et Marc Bourgie. Cette nomination réfère à un projet colossal ayant permis la sauvegarde d'un « lieu historique d'intérêt national » et la mise en valeur d'une collection majeure dans un espace résolument contemporain. La qualité de la proposition architecturale globale marie audace et élégance, dans un environnement où les œuvres demeurent toujours au premier plan. En amont, l'institution a mené son plus important chantier de restauration d'œuvres, ce qui témoigne, tout comme les acquisitions récentes et les recherches entreprises sur la collection, de la valeur muséale du projet alliant, de manière équilibrée, immobilisation, collectionnement et mise en valeur.

 

L'EXPOSITION JEAN PAUL GAULTIER HONORÉE AUX IDCA AWARD À NEW YORK

En juin dernier, le MBAM a remporté le premier prix des International Design and Communication Awards à New York pour la «Best Exhibition Communication Strategy» et le prix Argent pour le «Best Exhibition Layout» pour l'exposition La planète mode de Jean Paul Gaultier. Les juges ont sélectionné le MBAM parmi 67 musées provenant de 15 pays, incluant les États-Unis, le Canada, l'Australie, le Brésil, la France, l'Allemagne, la Grande-Bretagne, la Norvège, la Croatie, la Malaisie et l'Inde.

 

PRIX DE LA PERSONNALITÉ ARTS-AFFAIRES POUR PIERRE BOURGIE

Le mécène Pierre Bourgie a remporté en mai dernier le prix de la personnalité Arts-Affaires décerné par la Chambre de commerce du Montréal métropolitain et le Conseil des arts de Montréal, pour son engagement «indéfectible» envers le milieu culturel montréalais. Ce dernier a notamment contribué financièrement à la construction du nouveau pavillon d'art québécois et canadien du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et à la transformation en salle de concert de l'église Erskine and American.


PRIX BOVEY POUR PIERRE BOURGIE

Les prix annuels de Business for the Arts honorent les chefs d'entreprise et les sociétés qui soutiennent les arts. En 2012, Pierre Bourgie, président de la Fondation Arte Musica, grand mécène du pavillon Claire et Marc Bourgie et de la Salle Bourgie, et membre du conseil d'administration du MBAM, a remporté ce prix. Nous tenons à le féliciter et à le remercier pour son implication exemplaire dans la vie de notre Musée et de notre métropole.

 

COMMUNICATION ARTS DESIGN ANNUAL - ÉTATS-UNIS

Meilleur livre / catalogue d'exposition - Tom Wesselmann

 

CANNES LIONS - FRANCE

En nomination - Conception graphique de livre - La planète mode de Jean Paul Gaultier : de la rue aux étoiles

 

PRIX D'EXCELLENCE DE L'ASSOCIATION DES MUSÉES CANADIENS

Lors du congrès national 2012 de l'AMC à Gatineau, le projet du MBAM La planète mode de Jean Paul Gaultier : de la rue aux étoiles a remporté le Prix d'excellence dans la catégorie « Expositions ».

Dr Sean B. Murphy, président honoraire du MBAM, a également reçu un hommage lors de cette même soirée. Le Prix du bénévolat muséal 2012 lui a été remis au nom de l'Association des musées canadiens et de la Fédération canadienne des Amis de musées. Ce prix récompense des bénévoles pour leur engagement et leurs services soutenus auprès d'une institution. Le jury a été unanime à reconnaître le dévouement exceptionnel du Dr Murphy envers le Musée, ainsi que le rôle important qu'il joue dans le milieu muséal québécois, canadien et international.

 

D&AD - ÉTATS-UNIS

Les Prix D&AD récompensent chaque année la créativité, l'originalité, l'excellence technique et l'innovation dans les domaines du design et de la publicité.
Livre / Couverture de livre / La planète mode de Jean Paul Gaultier : de la rue aux étoiles
 

GRAFIKA

Les prix Grafika récompensent les meilleures pièces en design graphique au Québec.
Grand prix / Couverture de livre - La planète mode de Jean Paul Gaultier : de la rue 

 

GRAND PRIX DU TOURISME POUR NATHALIE BONDIL

Le 28 mars 2012, la plus haute distinction des Grands Prix du tourisme québécois, le prix Grand Ulysse, a été remis par Tourisme Montréal à Nathalie Bondil, directrice et conservatrice en chef du MBAM, pour sa détermination à doter le Musée d'un quatrième pavillon consacré exclusivement à l'art québécois et canadien et la mise en œuvre de programmes visant à en démocratiser l'accès.


2011
 

GRAND PRIX DU DESIGN

Lors des 5e Grands Prix du Design, un concours voué au design d'intérieur et d'objets, et qui s'adresse aux designers et architectes québécois, deux prix ont été décernés à Provencher Roy + Associés architectes pour le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal - pour le pavillon d'art québécois et canadien Claire et Marc Bourgie: le Prix Projet de l'année 2011 et le Prix Établissement public dans la catégorie lieu public et institutionnel.

 

COUPE INTERNATIONAL DESIGN AND IMAGE COMPETITION - CANADA

Prix / La planète mode de Jean Paul Gaultier : de la rue aux étoiles
 

DEUX DISTINCTIONS HONORENT LA CONTRIBUTION DE NATHALIE BONDIL

En juin, Nathalie Bondil, directrice et conservatrice en chef du MBAM, s'est vue décerner le titre de chevalière de l'Ordre national du Québec et a reçu l'Insigne du mérite de la Faculté des arts et des sciences de l'Université de Montréal pour le remarquable travail accompli au MBAM.



PRIX PUBLICATION SMQ

Société des musées québécois
Le jury a décerné le Prix Publication 2011 à La Planète mode de Jean Paul Gaultier. De la rue aux étoiles, publiée par le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM), en collaboration avec les Éditions de la Martinière et Abrams. Les membres du jury ont considéré que cette publication répond de manière éloquente, voire spectaculaire, à ces critères d'excellence dans un hommage à un grand couturier de réputation internationale, surnommé   « l'enfant terrible de la mode ». Tiré à plus de 30 000 exemplaires, l'ouvrage, méga catalogue d'une exposition tout aussi exceptionnelle, souligne les trente-cinq ans de carrière du créateur que la directrice du MBAM qualifie fort pertinemment de  « couturier humaniste ».

De conception originale, on y trouve une cinquantaine de témoignages exclusifs de personnalités, souvent des artistes, l'ayant côtoyé et pour lesquelles il signera des œuvres de haute couture qui leur collent à la peau. Si le panache de ce catalogue correspond tout à fait à son sujet, il fait également place à des contenus scientifiques liés à l'histoire de la mode. Véritable livre d'art (avec ses 424 pages, ses 550 illustrations et son coffret de présentation remarquable), cette publication, sous la direction de Thierry-Maxime Loriot, commissaire de l'exposition, a été initiée, conçue, réalisée et imprimée au Québec sous la direction des Éditions scientifiques du MBAM.



PRIX D'EXCELLENCE EN IMMOBILIER 2011

(catégorie à caractère commercial)

Institut de développement urbain du Québec
La firme Provencher Roy + Associés Architectes, avec la transformation et la reconversion de l'église Erskine and American en pavillon d'art québécois et canadien, s'est démarquée notamment par sa réflexion architecturale poussée, son intégration urbaine exceptionnelle et son design mariant le passé et l'avenir. Les jurés ont également beaucoup aimé leur volonté de conservation et de restauration, qui respecte les principes du développement durable.
 
2010
 

AWARDS OF MERIT

Canadian Architect

Provencher Roy + Associés Architectes pour le pavillon d'art québécois et canadien 
 

Canadian Architect a annoncé les gagnants 2010 du prix d'excellence donné chaque année depuis 1968 aux architectes s'étant illustrés au niveau du design. La firme Provencher Roy + Associés Architectes a été choisie par un jury constitué de Janna Levitt de Levitt Goodman Architectes de Toronto, James Cheng de James KM Cheng Architectes de Vancouver et Andrew King de Cannon Design.


PRIX EXCELLENCE - EXPOSITION

Société des musées québécois
La Société des musées québécois (SMQ) a décerné son prix Excellence au MBAM pour l'exposition Le verre selon Tiffany : la couleur en fusion. Dans un communiqué, la société a souligné que les membres du jury étaient unanimes à dire que cette exposition avait largement dépassé les normes élevées du milieu muséal.



GRAFIKA

Prix : Affiche culturelle - pièce unique
8 x Allemagne
Agence : Orangetango


Prix : Rapport annuel quadrichromie
Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal
Agence : Orangetango


Prix : Magazine
Urbania - Denis Gagnon
Agence : Feed