Quebec and Canadian Art, 1980-2010 - New Acquisitions

 

Free admission

Jean-Noël Desmarais Pavilion - Level S2

 

In the past few years, the Museum's collection has been enriched with outstanding pieces by contemporary Quebec and Canadian artists. In connection with this season featuring Quebec and Canadian art, the Museum will present recent acquisitions among a selection of landmark works from the contemporary art collection spanning the years 1980 to 2010.

 

150th Anniversary Gift: Orientation by Joanne Tod

This painting from 1988 by a Montreal-born, Toronto-based artist is already a historically important acquisition, since it dates from the period when critical discussion of Tod's work was at its height. In fact, since the late 1970s, she had been doing her utmost to restore to figurative painting its function as criticism, at a time when figuration appeared to have been thoroughly discredited in this respect in favour of installation and performance. For her – as for the painters of the so-called Pictures Generation in New York, like Jack Goldstein and Robert Longo, both represented in our collection – painting is the arena for a (feminist) exploration of the mechanisms of images and their power to shape our tastes.

Orientation shows a partial view of The Three Graces by the Venetian sculptor Antonio Canova in its palatial setting, today the Hermitage Museum in Saint Petersburg. Executed in 1813 after years of preliminary sketches, this group (another copy of which is the joint property of the Victoria and Albert Museum, London, and the National Gallery of Scotland, Edinburgh) is possibly one of the best known and most frequently reproduced works of all Western sculpture, along with Michelangelo's Pietà and David. The Three Graces, which embodies and exemplifies the Neoclassical concept of beauty current in Europe in the early nineteenth century, has an interesting history. Towards the end of the Napoleonic Wars, the work was commissioned twice at the same time, first by the Empress Joséphine de Beauharnais and then by Englishman John Russell, Duke of Bedford. The fact that this work celebrating the ideal of female beauty was sought by two parties at war with one another speaks volumes!

Tod depicts this famous group headless and cut off at the feet, creating the effect of a cropped photograph acting like a Procrustean bed on the history of art. In doing so, she raises a host of questions about aesthetics, the historicity of aesthetics, the relationship between beauty and politics, and the role of museums in promulgating canons of taste.

We thank Jack and Harriet Lazare and their family for giving us this superb painting by a major artist to celebrate the Museum's 150th anniversary. This is the first of Tod's works to enter the Museum's collection.

 

2. Pierre Dorion, Vanity (detail), 2004. MMFA, gift of Mr. René and Mrs. Janine Dorion

 

150th Anniversary Gift: Vanity by Pierre Dorion
A few years younger than Tod, Pierre Dorion is another leader of the revival of figurative painting in Canada. His work, more formalist and even philosophical than political, manifests subtle connections to photography and the history of art. During the exhibition at the Museum in 2010, in which, for the first time, his paintings were displayed alongside the photographs that inspired them, he stated: "For fifteen years or more, I have been working from the snapshots I take, photos of places, architecture and architectural details, interiors but never of human figures."

Vanity (2004) was painted from a photograph of the interior of a dressing room, taken in India by a friend (an unusual case, as Dorion generally uses his own images). The composition of the painting is characteristic of his works: singularly formal with bold parallels demarcating the floor from the wall, the table and the mirror in monochrome rectangular planes of solid colour. The objects – the hair dryer, electrical cord, curtain and red stool – stand out against this fixed structure with a clarity that is almost hallucinatory, conferring a symbolic resonance on this new kind of vanity. Until now, the Museum did not own any works by Dorion executed after 1999. The acquisition of this painting from 2004 adds another dimension to our understanding of his oeuvre.

We thank the artist's parents, René and Janine Dorion, for their generous gift of this work in honour of the Museum's 150th anniversary.

 

3. Barry Allikas, Above Lake Superior (détail), 2009. MMFA, purchase, the Canada Council for the Arts' Acquisition Assistance Program and the Museum Campaign 1998-2002 Fund. 

Barry Allikas

Still on the subject of Canadian painting, we have acquired two works which, although worlds apart in terms of style and visual effects, share a certain pictorial memory of the Canadian landscape. We already had one painting by Montrealer Barry Allikas, the geometric work Mille (2002). Now we own the large canvas Above Lake Superior (2009), in which the clear-cut undulating lines, although abstract, depict an icy, idealized Nordic landscape. In both title and style, this work harks back to the portraits of the Canadian landscape made early in the twentieth century by the Group of Seven around Georgian Bay, especially by Lawren Harris.

 


4. Kim Dorland, Nature Painting II (detail), 2008. MMFA, promised gift of Pierre and Anne-Marie Trahan, Majudia Collection

Kim Dorland

Nature Painting II (2008) by the Alberta-born Toronto artist Kim Dorland is a very different kind of tribute to the history of Canadian landscape painting. It is a scene of luxuriant vegetation improbably inhabited by every conceivable sort of wildlife: an eagle, squirrels, an owl, a butterfly, a wolf, ducks, birds, a tortoise and moose… This dreamlike vision of the Canadian forest – inspired by the landscape Dorland saw while he was artist-in-residence at the Emma Lake Artists' Workshops in Prince Albert National Park, Saskatchewan – is also notable for the extreme ferocity of the painting and the prodigal use of colour, which brings out the elements while at the same time immersing them in a flood of pigment.

Our warmest thanks go to Pierre Trahan for agreeing to part with this work, to which he is much attached, for the benefit of the Museum.

 

Kevin Schmidt

Another variation on the theme of landscape, this time in the form of a video installation, Wild Signals (2007), staged in a valley deep in the Rocky Mountains of the Yukon, is a spectacle of lights and smoke accompanied by the Wild Signals music of John Williams, composed as the soundtrack of the film Close Encounters of the Third Kind (1977). A favourite subject in the oeuvre of Vancouver's Kevin Schmidt– whose installation Long Beach Led Zep we presented in the exhibition Sound and Vision at the Museum in 2006 – Wild Signals establishes culture in the heart of wilderness so as to reveal its paradoxically artificial nature. The sublime is a vision of the soul, an aesthetic category, indeed, a chapter in the history of art.

 

The Museum thanks Loto-Québec for its invaluable support of the presentation of contemporary artworks from the Museum's collection, free of charge.

Art québécois et canadien, 1980-2010
Nouvelles acquisitions


Entrée libre
Pavillon Jean-Noël Desmarais, niveau S2

 

Au cours des dernières années, la collection du Musée s'est enrichie de pièces remarquables d'artistes québécois et canadiens contemporains. Dans le cadre de la saison consacrée à l'art d'ici, le Musée présente ces acquisitions récentes, parmi une sélection d'œuvres phares de la collection d'art contemporain allant de 1980 à 2010.

 

Orientation par Joanne Tod — Don du 150e
Ce tableau de 1988 d'une peintre torontoise d'origine montréalaise, a déjà valeur d'acquisition historique puisque l'œuvre date du moment où la réception critique de l'artiste est à son faîte. Depuis la fin des années 1970, en effet, Joanne Tod s'évertue à restituer à la peinture figurative ses capacités critiques, et ce, à une époque où cette forme d'art semble avoir été durablement discréditée, sur ce plan, par l'installation et la performance. Pour elle — comme pour ces peintres dits de la Pictures Generation de New York, dont Jack Goldstein et Robert Longo, représentés dans notre collection — la peinture est le lieu d'une interrogation (féministe) de la mécanique des images et de leur pouvoir de fabrication du goût.

Orientation montre une vue partielle du groupe sculpté du Vénitien Antonio Canova, Les trois Grâces, dans son décor palatial, aujourd'hui le musée de l'Ermitage à Saint-Pétersbourg. Réalisé en 1813 après des années d'esquisses, ce groupe, dont il existe un autre exemplaire (propriété conjointe du Victoria and Albert Museum, Londres, et des National Galleries of Scotland, Édimbourg), est peut-être l'un des plus connus et reproduits du répertoire de la sculpture occidentale, avec la Pietà et le David de Michel-Ange. Il incarne et emblématise la conception néoclassique du beau qui se fait jour en Europe au tournant du XIXe siècle. Aussi, l'histoire de ce groupe a ceci d'intéressant qu'il naît, en ces dernières années de guerres napoléoniennes, de deux commandes concurrentes, la première de l'impératrice Joséphine de Beauharnais, et la seconde, du Britannique John Russell, duc de Bedford. Le fait que cette œuvre, célébrant le canon du beau féminin, soit née de parties en conflit l'une contre l'autre, est éloquent à bien des égards!

Tod dépeint ce célèbre groupe décapité et tronqué de ses pieds, comme sous l'effet d'un cadrage photographique qui aurait agi comme un lit de Procuste sur l'histoire de l'art. Ce faisant, elle soulève une vaste problématique qui touche tout autant à la question de l'esthétique et de son historicité, aux rapports entre le beau et la politique, qu'au rôle des musées dans la reproduction des canons du goût.

Nous remercions Jack et Harriet Lazare et leur famille de nous avoir offert, pour souligner le 150e anniversaire du Musée, cette œuvre exemplaire de cette artiste majeure dont nous ne possédions pourtant aucune pièce.

 

2. Pierre Dorion, Vanité (détail)

Vanité par Pierre Dorion — Don du 150e
De quelques années plus jeune que Joanne Tod, Pierre Dorion est également un acteur clé de ce renouveau de la peinture figurative au Canada. Plus formaliste, voire philosophique, que politique, son œuvre entretient, avec la photographie comme avec l'histoire de l'art, des rapports tout en nuances. à l'occasion de l'exposition au Musée en 2010, qui pour la première fois présentait sa peinture en relation avec les photographies dont elle s'inspire, il déclarait : « Depuis une quinzaine d'années, je travaille à partir de photos instantanées que je prends, des photos qui représentent des lieux, des architectures ou des détails d'architecture, des intérieurs, mais jamais de figures humaines. »

Cette Vanité (2004) est peinte à partir d'une photographie de l'intérieur d'une loge, prise en Inde par un ami — fait exceptionnel, car d'habitude Dorion utilise ses propres images. Caractéristique des œuvres de l'artiste, la composition du tableau est remarquablement formelle avec des lignes parallèles fortes démarquant le sol du mur, de la table, du miroir par des plans monochromes rectangulaires de couleurs unies. De cette structure statique, les objets — sèche-cheveux, fil électrique, rideau, tabouret rouge — se détachent avec une clarté qui tient de l'hallucination, conférant une résonance symbolique à cette vanité d'un genre nouveau. De Pierre Dorion, nous ne possédions aucune œuvre postérieure à 1999. L'addition de cette peinture datée de 2004 permet d'ajouter une autre étape à la lecture de son oeuvre au sein de notre collection.

Nous remercions les parents de l'artiste, M. René et Mme Janine Dorion, de nous l'avoir généreusement offerte pour le 150e anniversaire du Musée.

 

3. Barry Allikas, Au-dessus du lac Supérieur (détail)

Barry Allikas
Toujours au chapitre de la peinture canadienne, nous avons acquis deux œuvres qui, toutes opposées qu'elles puissent être en matière de style et d'effets plastiques, ont pour sujet une certaine mémoire picturale du paysage canadien. Du Montréalais Barry Allikas — de qui nous possédions une œuvre de 2002, Mille, d'une facture géométrique — nous avons acquis Au-dessus du lac Supérieur (2009), une grande toile dont les lignes ondoyantes et précises, bien qu'abstraites, dessinent un paysage nordique glacial et idéalisé. Par son titre comme par son style, l'œuvre fait référence au travail sur le paysage canadien entrepris au début du XXe siècle par le Groupe des Sept à la baie Georgienne, en particulier par Lawren Harris.

 


4. Kim Dorland, Nature Painting II (détail)

Kim Dorland
Hommage d'un tout autre genre à l'histoire du paysage canadien, Nature Painting II (2008), du peintre torontois d'origine albertaine Kim Dorland, exhibe une nature luxuriante invraisemblablement peuplée de tous les animaux imaginables : aigle, écureuils, hibou, papillon, loup, canards, oiseaux, tortue, orignaux… Vision fantasmagorique de la forêt canadienne — inspirée en fait des paysages observés lors de la résidence de Dorland aux ateliers d'Emma Lake, situés dans le parc national de Prince Albert en Saskatchewan, — Nature Painting II est également un hommage à la sauvagerie extrême de la peinture, à la dépense excessive de la couleur, qui fait apparaître les formes, en même temps qu'elle les noie sous un débordement pigmentaire.

Nous remercions chaleureusement M. Pierre Trahan d'avoir accepté de se départir, au profit du Musée, de cette oeuvre qui lui tenait à coeur.


Kevin Schmidt
Autre variation sur le paysage, cette fois sur le mode de l'installation vidéographique, Wild Signals (2007) met en scène, au milieu d'une vallée encastrée dans les Rocheuses du Yukon, un spectacle de lumières et de fumée, sur la musique de John Williams (Wild Signals) qui a servi de thème au film Close Encounters of the Third Kind [Rencontres du troisième type] (1977). Thème privilégié de l'œuvre de Kevin Schmidt de Vancouver — dont nous avions présenté l'installation Long Beach Led Zep dans l'exposition Son et Vision au Musée en 2006 —, Wild Signals instaure la culture au sein de la nature, de manière à révéler le caractère paradoxalement artificiel de celle-ci. Le sublime est une vue de l'esprit, une catégorie esthétique, voire un chapitre de l'histoire de l'art.

 

Le Musée remercie Loto-Québec de son précieux soutien dans la présentation gratuite d'œuvres d'art contemporain de la collection du Musée.