Napoleon

GIFT OF THE BEN WEIDER COLLECTION
TO THE MONTREAL MUSEUM OF FINE ARTS

 

Free admission
Jean-Noël Desmarais Pavilion - Level 3


Thanks to Ben Weider's major gift of his Napoleonic collection, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts inaugurated galleries devoted to Napoleon and to the First Empire on October 23, 2008. Mr. Weider was committed to having this outstanding collection remain in Montreal. It will henceforth be presented at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, where it will enrich the Museum's collection and Canadian heritage as a whole. These galleries feature a collection of a hundred works and objects, some rare and unique, associated with Napoleon and the arts under the First Empire. Other gifts and loans of works related to this period, in particular objects from the collections of the Honourable Serge Joyal, P.C., O.C., Paul G. Desmarais and Power Corporation of Canada, Roger Prigent, and Élaine Bédard and Alexandre de Bothuri Bàthory, are also on display. These galleries will present one of the leading collections devoted to Napoleon in North America.

Personal effects that once belonged to the Emperor are featured in this presentation, notably the famous cocked hat – the only one in North America – that Napoleon wore during the Russian campaign in 1812, a cartonnier from the library at Malmaison, a milk jug with the coat of arms of Napoleon and Marie-Louise, created by the goldsmith Martin-Guillaume Biennais, a writing -case and pen - case, a boot and riding gloves, and a shirt. Paintings, sculptures, miniatures and decorative art objects, together with numerous prints and various documents of a historical nature relating to Napoleon, are all part of this major donation. The artworks include a majestic Bust-length Portrait of Napoleon in Coronation Robes in a very fine contemporary frame from the studio of Baron Gérard, a rare marble bust from the Neoclassical studio of Berthel Thorvaldsen, The Apotheosis of Napoleon, and a bronze by Jean-Léon Gérôme, Bonaparte Entering Cairo.

A hundred works of art and objects relating to the arts under the First Empire are also on display. This presentation reveals the (often forgotten) long-standing ties of history and friendship between Quebec, Acadia and France through the lens of Napoleon's career and legend.

The late Ben Weider, the well-known personality and visionary businessman, was passionate about Napoleon's life and fate, and assembled an astonishing collection of historical objects relating to the Emperor. Founding president of the International Napoleonic Society, he gave lectures and also published a number of works on Napoleonic history, the fruit of his wide research.

Of all the kings, emperors, rulers and military leaders known to history, Napoleon continues to be one of the most celebrated. More has been written about him, and continues to be written, than about any other figure of history: literary and historical works, epic poems, plays, symphonies, films, even musicals. But above all, it is the legendary aura of the man himself that still fascinates us today. The figure of Napoleon, personifying the lost motherland and national pride, became an important rallying factor in French Canada, where the Emperor became a symbol of the resistance to the English. Napoleon's secular and republican ideas were to influence intellectual circles in Montreal, particularly the Parti Canadien of Louis-Joseph Papineau. Quebec's Civil Code, promulgated in 1866 and still in force, was largely based on the French Civil Code of 1804, often referred to as the "Napoleonic Code."

The Napoleon galleries of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts constitute one of North America's most important collections of items relating to Napoleon (1769-1821). They are open to the public free of charge at all times.

This project was led by Nathalie Bondil, in collaboration with the Honourable Serge Joyal. The installation was designed by Christiane Michaud.

Napoléon

DON DE LA COLLECTION BEN WEIDER AU MUSÉE DES BEAUX-ARTS DE MONTRÉAL

 

Entrée libre

Pavillon Jean-Noël Desmarais, niveau 3

 

Grâce au don majeur de la collection napoléonienne de M. Ben Weider, qui a tenu à ce que cet ensemble exceptionnel demeure à Montréal, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal a inauguré, le 23 octobre 2008, de nouvelles salles consacrées à Napoléon Ier et au Premier Empire. Les pièces réunies par M. Weider et qui sont désormais présentées au Musée, enrichissent sa collection tout comme le patrimoine canadien. Ces salles regroupent un ensemble, parfois rare ou unique, d'une centaine d'œuvres et d'objets liés aux arts sous le Premier Empire, et en particulier à la personne de Napoléon 1er. Elles dévoilent d'autres dons et prêts d'œuvres liées à cette époque, appartenant notamment à l'honorable Serge Joyal, c.p., o.c., à Paul G. Desmarais et à Power Corporation du Canada, à Roger Prigent ainsi qu'à Élaine Bédard et Alexandre de Bothuri Bàthory. Ces salles sont l'un des plus importants lieux de rassemblement d'objets liés à Napoléon 1er en Amérique du Nord.

Des effets personnels ayant appartenu à l'Empereur figurent dans cette présentation, notamment le fameux bicorne – unique en Amérique du Nord –  porté par Napoléon durant la campagne de Russie en 1812, un cartonnier provenant de la bibliothèque de la Malmaison, un pot à lait aux armes de Napoléon et de Marie-Louise, réalisé par l'orfèvre Martin-Guillaume Biennais, un écritoire-rouleau avec plumier, une botte et des gants de cavalier, ainsi qu'une chemise. Des tableaux, des sculptures, des miniatures et des objets d'art ainsi qu'un grand nombre d'estampes et divers documents de nature historique, reliés au souvenir napoléonien, accompagnent cette donation majeure. On y voit, entre autres, un majestueux Portrait en buste de Napoléon Ier en costume de sacre dans son exceptionnel cadre d'époque, peint par l'Atelier du baron Gérard, un rare buste en marbre de l'atelier néoclassique de Berthel Thorvaldsen, L'Apothéose de Napoléon 1er, et un bronze de Jean-Léon Gérôme, Bonaparte entrant au Caire.

Une centaine d'œuvres et d'objets liés aux arts sous le Premier Empire, et en particulier à la personne de Napoléon ont été ainsi réunis. Cet ensemble souligne un lien historique et ancien d'affection, souvent méconnu, entre le Québec, l'Acadie et la France au travers de l'épopée et de la légende napoléoniennes.

Ben Weider, personnage bien connu et homme d'affaires visionnaire, s'est passionné pour la vie et le destin de Napoléon ; il était parvenu à réunir un ensemble tout à fait exceptionnel de souvenirs historiques liés à la personne de l'Empereur. Président-fondateur de la Société napoléonienne internationale, conférencier, il était également l'auteur de plusieurs ouvrages historiques sur Napoléon, fruit de nombreuses recherches.

De tous les rois, empereurs, souverains, chefs militaires que l'histoire de l'humanité a connus, Napoléon demeure l'un des personnages les plus célèbres. C'est à son sujet qu'ont été écrits, et se publient encore, le plus grand nombre d'œuvres littéraires, de récits historiques, de poèmes épiques, de pièces de théâtre, de symphonies, de films, voire de comédies musicales, mais plus que tout, c'est l'aura mythique du personnage qui continue de fasciner aujourd'hui. Par ailleurs, la figure de Napoléon, personnifiant la patrie perdue et la fierté nationale, fut un important facteur de cohésion au sein du Canada français où l'Empereur devint un symbole de la résistance aux Britanniques. Les idées laïques et républicaines de Napoléon vont influencer les milieux intellectuels montréalais, en particulier le Parti canadien de Louis-Joseph Papineau. Le Code civil du Québec, rédigé en 1866 et toujours en vigueur, est fortement inspiré du Code civil français de 1804, reconnu par la population comme « le Code Napoléon ».

Les salles Napoléon du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal constituent l'un des plus importants lieux de rassemblement d'objets consacrés à Napoléon Ier (1769-1821) en Amérique du Nord. Elles sont ouvertes gratuitement au public, en tout temps.

La direction de ce projet a été menée par Nathalie Bondil, avec la collaboration de l'honorable Serge Joyal. La  scénographie a été confiée à Christiane Michaud.