Armand Guillaumin

The Museum has recently acquired two paintings by Armand Guillaumin, both of which have been on display in the Michal and Renata Hornstein Pavilion for Peace since the building’s inauguration.

Road and Railway
Using quick, vibrant brush strokes, the artist depicted in the centre of the composition a steam train spewing plumes of white smoke as it approaches. It is a classic composition based on oblique dotted lines that faintly suggest a series of electricity wires running along the tree-lined road. Advancing towards the viewer to the left of the image are two figures in clothes suggestive of uniforms (perhaps a reference to the Commune?) and a horse-drawn cart.

The sky emerges above the horizon line and fills more than half of the sober and dense composition. Quick, solid brush strokes overlap in different tonalities, reducing the effect of transparency of the sky. Emphatic touches, combined with broad, rough strokes, evoke the presence of windswept clouds. The dynamism of this composition echoes the encroaching technological advances of industrialization that were sweeping across the French countryside at the time. Such an understanding, while perhaps embryonic in Guillaumin’s mind, is evident in this landscape that contrasts the old and new worlds.

Crozant and the Creuse Hills, Rainy Evening
In the 1890s, Guillaumin, now settled in the Creuse Valley, was drawn to the shape of the heather-covered Puy Barriou that looms in the middle of the hills.1 The view of the Puy Barriou at Crozant was one of the artist’s favourite subjects and is recurrent in his production. Between 1893 and 1922, Guillaumin captured the site in its various seasons.

Crozant and the Creuse Hills, Rainy Evening is remarkable for its rendering of the valley’s warm colours and interweaving nuances of the purple heather-covering that vanishes into the horizon under a pink and grey sky. The subtle lighting and treatment of the surface show Guillaumin’s affinity with Impressionists like Monet and Pissarro, with whom he had participated in shows since the 1860s. However, the use of lively colours and distinct shades of purple, ochre, green and maroon anticipates the purity of the Fauve palette.

FRANCE TRINQUE AVEC ANNE GRACE


1. Christopher Gray and Gilles Kraemer, Armand Guillaumin « de la lumière à la couleur », exhib. cat. (Belfort: Musée d’art et d’histoire, 1997), p. 54.

Ill. 1
Armand Guillaumin (1841-1927), Road and Railway, 1881, Oil on canvas, 73.3 x 100.5 cm. MMFA, gifts of a Toronto admirer, in memory of Bernard Lamarre, a patron of the arts

Ill. 2
Armand Guillaumin (1841-1927), Crozant and the Creuse Hills, Rainy Evening, 1894, Oil on canvas, 59.3 x 81 cm. MMFA, gifts of a Toronto admirer, in memory of Bernard Lamarre, a patron of the arts

Armand Guillaumin

Le Musée a récemment fait l’acquisition de deux peintures d’Armand Guillaumin qui sont installées dans le Pavillon pour la Paix Michal et Renata Hornstein depuis son inauguration.

Route et voie ferrée
Par des touches courtes et percutantes, l’artiste dessine au centre de la composition un train à vapeur qui approche, crachant sa fumée blanche en tourbillons. Une composition simple, basée sur la ligne oblique des fils électriques donnés en pointillé du côté opposé aux feuillus qui bordent la route. À l’arrière-plan gauche, on distingue deux figures, séparées par un arbre bordant la route, dans des habits s’apparentant à une tenue de soldat (en référence à la Commune ?) et une charrette tirée par un cheval.

Marqué par la ligne d’horizon, le ciel occupe la moitié de la composition sobre et dense où les coups de pinceau solides et rapides se chevauchent dans des tonalités différentes, et réduisent l’effet de transparence du ciel. La facture par touches nerveuses, combinées aux grands et rugueux coups de pinceau, évoque le vent qui transporte les nuages dans sa course. Le dynamisme de cette composition rappelle cette avancée technologique que l’on ne peut arrêter et qui balaie tout sur son passage. Cette constatation, ne serait-ce qu’embryonnaire dans l’esprit de Guillaumin, est donnée à voir dans ce paysage qui oppose l’Ancien et le Nouveau Monde.

Crozant, les hauteurs de la creuse, temps de pluie, soir
Dans les années 1890, Guillaumin, installé dans la Creuse, ne résiste pas à la forme étrange du Puy Barriou couvert de bruyère dressé au milieu de la dépression du fleuve1. Motif privilégié par l’artiste, cette vue est récurrente dans sa production. Entre 1893 et 1922, ce site est décliné au gré des saisons.

Crozant, les hauteurs de la Creuse est remarquable par le coloris chaud des vallées aux différentes nuances qui s’entrecroisent, couvertes de bruyères mauves jusqu’à l’horizon qui s’élève sous un ciel marbré de gris et de rose. L’éclairage subtil et le traitement de Guillaumin montrent son affinité avec les impressionnistes comme Monet et Pissarro, avec qui il expose depuis les années 1860. Cependant, l’utilisation de couleurs vives et de tons purs de violet, ocre, vert et marron annonce véritablement le fauvisme.

FRANCE TRINQUE AVEC ANNE GRACE


1. Christopher Gray et Gilles Kraemer, Armand Guillaumin « de la lumière à la couleur », cat. exp., Belfort, Musée d’art et d’histoire, 1997, p. 54. Armand Guillaumin (1841-1927)

Ill. 1
Armand Guillaumin (1841-1927), Route et voie ferrée, 1881, huile sur toile, 73,3 x 100,5 cm. MBAM, dons d’un admirateur de Toronto, à la mémoire de Bernard Lamarre, mécène.

Ill. 2
Armand Guillaumin (1841-1927), Crozant, les hauteurs de la Creuse, temps de pluie, soir 1894, huile sur toile, 59,3 x 81 cm. MBAM, dons d’un admirateur de Toronto, à la mémoire de Bernard Lamarre, mécène.