Dominique Blain

Dominique Blain is known for her work that expresses human distress and adversity. In her multifaceted artistic practice, she skillfully evokes and revives historical events, in such a way that she cuts to the heart of various political issues to denounce the looting and destruction of heritage objects.

Integrated into the immersive games section, this large-scale installation, recently acquired thanks to a donation from Erik Deslandres, transports the visitor to First-World-War Italy. It is inspired by the 1917 book by Ugo Ojetti, titled I monumenti italiani e la guerra (Italian monuments and the war). It presents constructions made from wood, sandbags and even hanging mattresses used to shelter sculptures and monuments from the bombings. Throughout the book, the author juxtaposes photographs (taken in Venice, Milan and Florence) of these artworks before and after being covered by the makeshift structures. His hope was to sensitize the public to the potential destruction of cultural heritage in times of war. Blain’s installation somewhat builds on Ojetti’s work: taking images from the book, she strikes visitors’ imaginations, while drawing their attention to a type of devastation that sadly persists today. She sees it as a gesture of hope and faith in humanity: “Be it to protect a religious icon or work of art, [saving heritage pieces] was an act of resistance that took courage, pride and determination.1

Untitled/Protection plunges us into the heart of the battlefield in a trench made from hundreds of sandbags. On the central wall of the installation hang 11 photographs from Ojetti’s book, accentuated by golden frames that symbolically transform them into works of art. In manipulating the constraints of space and time, the artist creates here an environment that invites us to meditate on the destruction of heritage, past and present.

GENEVIEVE GOYER-OUIMETTE


Dominique Blain (born in 1957), Untitled/Protection, 1989, gelatin silver prints on polymeric film mounted on canvas, gilt frames, burlap bags. MMFA, gift of Erik Deslandres

1Excerpt from the artistic approach for the work written by Dominique Blain.

Dominique Blain

Dominique Blain est reconnue pour ses oeuvres exprimant la détresse humaine et l’adversité. Sa pratique artistique multiforme évoque des événements historiques qu’elle réactualise avec finesse, soulevant au passage divers enjeux politiques dont elle traite de façon percutante pour dénoncer le pillage et la destruction du patrimoine.

Cette installation d’envergure, récemment acquise grâce à un don d’Erik Deslandres, transporte le visiteur dans l’Italie de la Première Guerre mondiale. Elle s’inspire d’un livre datant de 1917: Les monuments italiens et la guerre, d’Ugo Ojetti. Cet ouvrage présente des constructions – faites de bois, de sacs de sable et même de matelas suspendus – abritant des sculptures et des monuments dans le but de les protéger en cas de bombardements. D’une page à l’autre, l’auteur juxtapose des photographies(prises à Venise, à Milan et à Florence) de ces oeuvres avant et après qu’elles aient été recouvertes par ces structures de fortune. Il souhaitait ainsi sensibiliser la population à la destruction potentielle du patrimoine culturel en temps de guerre. L’installation de Blain poursuit en quelque sorte ce travail: reprenant sciemment certaines images du livre, elle réussit à marquer l’imaginaire du visiteur tout en le sensibilisant à un type de dévastation qui, malheureusement, est toujours d’actualité. Il s’agit pour elle d’un geste d’espoir et de foi en l’humanité: «Peu importe [qu’on ait voulu] protéger l’icône religieux ou l’oeuvre d’art, c’était un geste de résistance qui impliquait du courage, de la fierté et de la détermination1

Sans titre/protection donne l’impression de se retrouver en plein champ de bataille, dans une tranchée constituée de centaines de sacs de sable. Sur le mur central sont accrochées 11 photographies issues du livre d’Ojetti, magnifiées par des cadres dorés qui les transforment symboliquement en oeuvres d’art. Se jouant des contraintes temporelles et spatiales, l’artiste crée ici un environnement qui nous invite à méditer sur la destruction du patrimoine passé et actuel.

GENEVIEVE GOYER-OUIMETTE


Dominique Blain (née en 1957), Sans titre/protection, 1989, épreuves à la gélatine argentique sur film polymérique marouflé sur toile, cadres dorés, sacs en jute. MBAM, don d’Erik Deslandres

Extrait de la démarche artistique de l’oeuvre rédigée par Dominique Blain.