Elaine de Kooning

Artist, writer, teacher and critic, Elaine de Kooning was a seminal figure of Abstract Expressionism. Although her career as an artist was often overshadowed by the celebrity of her husband, Willem de Kooning, she was one of the few women of her generation to be respected as an artist in her own right. Together with Jackson Pollock, Robert Motherwell, Lee Krasner and Franz Kline, among others, De Kooning was featured in the groundbreaking Ninth Street Show (1951), widely considered to be the exhibition that launched the group of artists collectively referred to as the Abstract Expressionists or the New York School. She was also a founding member of the Eighth Street Club in the East Village, New York, which served as an important meeting place for post-war avant-garde artists, musicians and writers.

Bill at St. Mark’s is among the most important paintings the artist ever made and is arguably her most significant portrait. Executed at a studio she occupied for a brief period of time on St. Mark’s Place in the East Village, it is one of four known paintings she made of her husband. In it, a seated male figure faces the viewer with his hands on his thighs and his legs open. Commanding the space with his monumental frontality and the aggressive openness of his posture, the sitter projects a strong virility that is amplified by the use of bold brushstrokes and rich colours – strong blues, mustard yellow, dark green, orange infused with red – that accent the contours of his body. His presence and persona are portrayed through pose, gesture and colour rather than through the features of his face, notably absent from this portrait. In fact, by eliminating the face, and thereby upending the conventions of traditional portraiture, Elaine de Kooning allowed for a certain kind of alchemy to transpire between observer and observed. The painting is in a constant state of becoming, in her words, “simultaneously still and in motion like a flag in the wind.1 In perpetual flux, the portrait coheres most fully in the mind of the viewer, forcing him or her to look beyond the easily readable features of the subject to see signs of character in traits less conspicuous. “I want something there that’s more than just the visual,2 she explained.

The year this painting was made, 1956, was an important one for both the artist and the history of Abstract Expressionism. It was the year Jackson Pollock died, and a major retrospective exhibition of his work was held at the MoMA. Elaine de Kooning, for her part, had a solo exhibition at the Stable Gallery. She was also included in the exhibition Expressionism at the Walker Art Center, in Minneapolis, which travelled to several important venues in the United States, including the Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston, and the Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo. Additionally, she was featured in the Young American Painters exhibition organized by MoMA curator Dorothy Miller that travelled to 16 cities, including Winnipeg. The year 1956 also marked Elaine and Willem de Kooning’s decision to amicably part ways. Never divorced, the two eventually reconciled 20 years later and remained close until the end of Willem de Kooning’s life.

This exceptional artwork marks the MMFA’s first major acquisition of an Abstract Expressionist painting. It is also the first piece by Elaine de Kooning to enter a Canadian public collection. This historic acquisition was made possible by the profound generosity of Roslyn Margles.

MARY-DAILEY DESMARAIS


Ill. 1
Elaine de Kooning (1918-1989), Bill at St. Mark’s, 1956, oil on canvas, 183 x 109.7 cm. MMFA, purchase, gift of Roslyn Margles in memory of her husband Max H. Margles. © EdeK Trust

1Elaine de Kooning to Ann Gibson quoted in “Fortune,” in Elaine de Kooning et al. (eds.), Elaine de Kooning: Portraits (New York: DelMonico Books, 2015) p. 29.
2Ibid., p. 30.

Elaine de Kooning

Artiste, écrivaine, enseignante et critique d’art, Elaine de Kooning est une figure de proue de l’expressionnisme abstrait. Bien que sa carrière artistique ait souvent été éclipsée par celle de son célèbre compagnon, Willem de Kooning, elle est l’une des rares femmes de sa génération à avoir été considérée comme une artiste à part entière. Avec Jackson Pollock, Robert Motherwell, Lee Krasner et Franz Kline, entre autres, elle participe au révolutionnaire Ninth Street Show (1951), exposition inaugurale de ce groupe d’artistes collectivement appelé les expressionnistes abstraits, ou l’école de New York. Elle est aussi membre fondatrice de l’Eighth Street Club, dans l’East Village de New York, l’un des principaux points de ralliement des artistes, musiciens et écrivains de l’avant-garde.

Bill à St. Mark’s est l’une des peintures majeures de l’artiste. Réalisée dans un atelier qu’elle occupe brièvement sur la place St. Mark, dans l’East Village, elle constitue l’un des quatre portraits de son mari que nous lui connaissons. Une silhouette masculine, assise de face, les mains sur les cuisses et les jambes écartées, occupe l’espace avec autorité. Le modèle projette une virilité affirmée, amplifiée par les vigoureux coups de pinceau et la richesse de la palette – bleus intenses, jaune moutarde, vert foncé, orange mêlé de rouge – qui découpent les contours de son corps. Sa présence et sa personnalité sont représentées par la pose, le geste et la couleur plutôt que par les traits de son visage, carrément absents : en effaçant le visage, ce qui renverse complètement les conventions du portrait, Elaine de Kooning crée une relation tenant de l’alchimie entre l’observateur et l’observé. La peinture semble se transformer constamment ; elle est « […] à la fois immobile et mouvante, comme un drapeau dans le vent1 », forçant à voir au-delà des traits faciaux facilement lisibles du sujet pour distinguer les nuances plus subtiles de son caractère. « Je veux qu’il y ait là quelque chose allant au-delà du simple visuel2 », explique-t-elle.

L’année de la réalisation de cette peinture, 1956, s’avère cruciale pour l’artiste comme pour l’expressionnisme abstrait : elle marque le décès de Pollock et la rétrospective de grande envergure qui lui est consacrée au MoMA. Elaine de Kooning fait quant à elle l’objet d’une exposition solo à la Stable Gallery et figure dans Expressionism, une exposition organisée au Walker Art Center, Minneapolis, et présentée par la suite à l’Institute of Contemporary Art, Boston, et à l’Albright-Knox Art Gallery, Buffalo. Elle compte parmi les têtes d’affiche de l’exposition Young American Painters, organisée par Dorothy Miller, commissaire au MoMA – une exposition mise en tournée dans 16 villes, dont Winnipeg. L’année 1956 marque également la décision d’Elaine et de Willem de Kooning de poursuivre leurs chemins séparément. Jamais divorcés, réconciliés vingt ans plus tard, ils demeureront proches jusqu’à la toute fin.

Marquant la première grande acquisition d’une peinture de l’expressionnisme abstrait par le MBAM, cette oeuvre est la première d’Elaine de Kooning à entrer dans une collection publique canadienne. Cette acquisition historique a été rendue possible grâce à la générosité exceptionnelle de Roslyn Margles.

MARY-DAILEY DESMARAIS


Ill. 1
Elaine de Kooning (1918-1989), Bill à St. Mark’s, 1956, huile sur toile, 183 x 109,7 cm. MBAM, achat, don de Roslyn Margles à la mémoire de son époux Max H. Margles. © EdeK Trust

1Elaine de Kooning à Ann Gibson, citée dans «Fortune», Elaine de Kooning et coll. (dir.), Elaine de Kooning: Portraits, New York, DelMonico Books, 2015, p. 29.
2Ibid., p. 30.