Hyacinthe Rigaud

Portrait of Louis XIV in Royal Ceremonial Robes

The Montreal Museum of Fine Arts has just acquired a remarkable work: the modello, or painted sketch, for the famous Portrait of Louis XIV in Royal Ceremonial Robes by Hyacinthe Rigaud (Musée du Louvre, Paris).

“We are pleased that we were able to acquire this iconic painting on the art market. It is the modello for one of the most famous portraits in the history of Western art,” said Nathalie Bondil, the MMFA’s Director General and Chief Curator.

The work is on display on Level 2 of the new Michal and Renata Hornstein Pavilion for Peace in the galleries of the seventeenth- and eighteenth-century French, Italian and English schools.

The modello of the Sun King’s portrait

In November 1700, the duke of Anjou (1683-1746) acceded to the throne of Spain under the name Philip V, an advantageous move for France, late in the reign of Louis XIV, the duke’s grandfather. Just before the young Philip left France for Madrid on December 4, 1700, Louis XIV expressed a wish to have a portrait painted of his grandson. Philip responded by commissioning the same artist to paint a portrait of his grandfather, so he could take it to Spain with him. Perhaps because it was so successful, the portrait of Louis XIV would remain in Versailles.

The principle of the modello was to show the commissioning body – in this case, the king’s Administration des Bâtiments du Roi and the monarch himself – a sufficiently completed sketch to present in detail but in a scaled-down format the manner in which the final canvas would be composed and executed. For an official portrait, the iconography of which had to be precise and clearly defined in order to be politically effective, the execution of a modello was essential. Certain differences with the final painting show that this canvas cannot be a copy but was in all likelihood rendered beforehand.

The fascinating iconography of power

The king is painted standing, in contradistinction with the Medieval tradition of depicting the sovereign seated on a throne. The throne, an ornate armchair of gilded wood, is evoked not as an object of prestige for the monarchy but as a secondary device to confirm that the king does not need to be seated on a throne to reign. Rather than depict the king in a static pose, the artist has chosen to show him moving slowly in a dignified manner, resting his hand on the sceptre. Thus, Louis XIV is shown moving in the direction indicated by God.

To illustrate the king’s political authority, how could the artist evoke the monarch’s corporal sanctity? Rigaud had the brilliant idea of borrowing a detail from Van Dyck’s Charles I but giving it an entirely different meaning: the right hand is shown bare, without the silk glove the king is holding in his other hand. And the right hand is not depicted holding an ordinary cane but the royal sceptre, held head down in an apparently casual manner.

Biography of Hyacinthe Rigaud (1659-1743), painter of kings

Born in Perpignan in 1659, Hiacinto Rigau was a Catalan who trained in Montpellier before leaving for Paris in 1681. Wanting to make a name for himself in Parisian art circles, he added the “d” to his surname to make it look more French. In Paris, Rigaud completed his apprenticeship under Le Brun, the all-powerful director of the Académie Royale. When Rigaud won the prestigious Prix de Rome in 1682, Le Brun encouraged him to establish himself as a portraitist, as it was more lucrative than history painting.
He initially found his clients among the Parisian bourgeoisie, but caught the attention of the Court in 1688 when he received commissions from members of the royal family. The painting of the king’s portrait in 1701 was thus the culmination of the princely favour Rigaud had already enjoyed for several years. The artist’s reputation reached new heights under the reign of Louis XV.

This modello is without a doubt the finest and most prestigious portrait of Louis XIV conserved in Canada. Only one other painting of the king, attributed to the workshop of Hyacinthe Rigaud, is included in the collection of the Senate of Canada. Rigaud’s works are exceedingly rare in public collections: the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa has one of his family portraits.

Hyacinthe Rigaud

Portrait de Louis XIV en habit royal

Le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal vient d’acquérir un tableau remarquable, le modello, ou modèle achevé, du célébrissime Portrait de Louis XIV en habit royal par Hyacinthe Rigaud (Musée du Louvre, Paris).

Nathalie Bondil, directrice générale et conservatrice en chef du musée raconte : « Nous sommes heureux d’avoir pu saisir sur le marché de l’art cette icône de la peinture, le modello d’un des portraits les plus fameux de l’histoire de l’art occidental. »

L’œuvre est installée au 2e niveau du nouveau Pavillon pour la Paix Michal et Renata Hornstein, dans les galeries des écoles française, italienne et anglaise des XVIIe et XVIIIe siècles.

Le modello du portrait du Roi-Soleil

En novembre 1700, la nomination du duc d’Anjou (1683-1746) au trône d’Espagne, sous le nom de Philippe V, fait l’affaire de la France, en cette fin de règne de Louis XIV, son grand-père. Proclamé roi, le jeune Philippe V part pour Madrid le 4 décembre 1700. Louis XIV émet alors le désir de faire réaliser le portrait de son petit-fils. À cette attention, Philippe V répond par le souhait de commander dans le même temps, au même artiste, le portrait de Louis XIV pour l’emporter en Espagne. Trop réussi sans doute, le portrait de Louis XIV restera finalement à la cour de Versailles. Ce tableau est le modello de ce portrait du Roi-Soleil.

Le principe du modello est de proposer au commanditaire – l’administration des Bâtiments du roi et le souverain lui-même – une esquisse aboutie présentant dans le détail, mais en format réduit, la manière dont la toile finale sera composée et exécutée. Pour un portrait officiel, dont l’iconographie devait être précise et clairement définie afin d’être politiquement efficace, la réalisation préalable d’un modello est fondamentale. Certaines divergences par rapport à la version finale induisent à penser que la toile ne peut être une copie postérieure mais, selon toute vraisemblance, antérieure.

Une fascinante iconographie du pouvoir

Debout, le roi s’oppose aux traditions de représentation. Par la présence d’un riche fauteuil en bois doré, le trône est évoqué, non pas comme objet de prestige pour la monarchie, mais comme un artifice secondaire : le roi n’a pas besoin d’y siéger pour être souverain. Levé de son siège, le roi esquisse une marche lente et digne, confirmé par le point d’appui sur le sceptre. Il suit la direction indiquée par la main de justice, autre bâton de cérémonie qui, parmi les regalia du sacre, symbolise la bénédiction sur le souverain : Louis XIV s’avance dans la direction indiquée par Dieu.

Si la splendeur aide à manifester l’autorité politique du modèle, comment évoquer cette sacralité corporelle ? Rigaud a ici l’idée brillante de reprendre un détail du Charles Ier de Van Dyck pour lui conférer une signification différente: la main droite est représentée nue, libérée du gant de soie que le roi tient serré dans son autre main, posée non pas sur une canne ordinaire, mais sur le sceptre royal, tête en bas, manipulé avec une évidente désinvolture.

Biographie du peintre des rois, Hyacinthe Rigaud (1659-1743)

Né à Perpignan en 1659, le catalan Hiacinto Rigau se forme à Montpellier avant de partir pour Paris en 1681. Désireux de se faire un nom dans le paysage artistique de la capitale, il francise son patronyme en y ajoutant un « d » final. À Paris, Rigaud achève son apprentissage sous la protection de Charles Le Brun, alors tout-puissant directeur de l’Académie Royale. Lorsqu’il remporte le prestigieux Prix de Rome en 1682, son mentor l’encourage à s’établir directement comme portraitiste, domaine plus lucratif que la peinture d’histoire.

S’il trouve d’abord sa clientèle parmi les bourgeois parisiens, Rigaud se fait remarquer par la Cour en 1688, obtenant notamment des commandes de membres de la famille royale. La réalisation du portrait du roi en 1701 est à ce titre l’aboutissement d’une faveur princière établie depuis déjà longtemps. La réputation de l’artiste atteint dès lors des sommets sous Louis XV.

Le modello que vient d’acquérir le MBAM est sans conteste le plus beau et le plus prestigieux des portraits de Louis XIV conservés au Canada. Une seule autre peinture de Louis XIV, attribuée à l’atelier de Hyacinthe Rigaud, fait partie de la collection du Sénat du Canada. Les œuvres de Rigaud sont extrêmement rares dans les collections publiques : un portrait de famille est conservé au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, à Ottawa.