Jean-Michel Othoniel

THE PEONY KNOT BY JEAN-MICHEL OTHONIEL
THE FIRST WORK TO BE INSTALLED IN THE PAVILION FOR PEACE

“The new pavilion, with its rich wood walls and floors and marvellous natural lighting, will make a stunning showcase for The Peony Knot. Not only will the work be on view for visitors within the Museum, but it will also be visible from outside the Museum’s walls, especially at night, when it will be in the spotlight.” – Jean-Michel Othoniel

Beauty and wonder are inherent in the work of Jean- Michel Othoniel, whose favourite material is blown glass. This French artist is renowned for his monumental and gripping works, with a formal approach that reconciles art and craft. The Peony Knot (2015), recently acquired, has been given pride of place in the Event Stairway of the Michal and Renata Hornstein Pavilion for Peace, which feature the collections of International art and the Michel de la Chenelière Atelier for Education and Art Therapy. This signal work incarnates the vocation of the new pavilion: “Floating above the Event Stairway, this Peony – the very word comes from Paeon, the Greek god of healing – evokes joy and wonder, which are perfect reflections of our programme,” explained Nathalie Bondil.

Since the beginning of his career, Othoniel has shown an inclination for the metamorphosis of materials – light, sulfur, lead, wax and obsidian – before turning to blown glass in 1993. With his protean artistic output – choreography, drawing, writing, installation, performance, photography and sculpture – the artist has become renowned for his highly poetic imagination.

Othoniel has a contemporary approach to blown glass. He takes an interest in its different states – liquid and solid (reminiscent of the transmutation of materials through alchemical processes) – as well as its fragility. The transformation of this material by fire obliges the artist to delegate this creative gesture to the glassblower and play the role of orchestra conductor. Beads of blown and coloured glass strung on stainless-steel structures have become his signature. His works take various forms, including giant necklaces hung from trees in the late 1990s, the installation Le Kiosque des Noctambules (2000) at the entrance to the Palais Royal – Musée du Louvre metro station, and more recently, Les Belles Danses (2015), a permanent installation of sculpture-fountains at the Château de Versailles.

Flowers and their hidden meaning have been recurrent themes in this artist’s work since his early days, when he began including plants after reading Ovid’s Metamorphoses and seeing Joseph Beuys’s drawings of dried flowers, Ombelico di Venere Cotyledon Umbilicus Veneris (1985). During an artist residency at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston in the summer of 2011, Othoniel accessed the museum’s collections, where gardens and flowers are recurrent themes not only in painting, but also in tapestry, ironwork, furniture and architectural elements…

The peony and its symbolism stand out across history and different cultures. “In China, the peony was considered the queen of flowers, evoking nobility, opulence and honour, and incarnating love. Depicted in groups of three, the peony announces spring. It has been the image of prosperity and happiness since the Tang dynasty (618-906). Under the Song dynasty (960-1279), it was called ‘the flower of wealth and prestige,’ and its image was reproduced on many objects. In the West, it is the rose of Pentecost. During the Middle Ages, it was considered to have particularly strong curative powers, especially to cure mental illness and ward off curses,” the artist explained. The peony inspired him to create this monumental work, The Peony Knot,(1) which was first shown in 2015 in the exhibition Jean-Michel Othoniel: Secret Flower Sculptures at the Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum in Boston.

The Peony Knot is a 3-metre-wide, 500-kilogram hanging sculpture, composed of 212 mirrored blown-glass beads in amber, orange, plum, pink and red, strung on stainless-steel wires. The work evokes a flower in bloom. It is seductive in its subtle colours and suggestive of a string of pearls in constant movement in space. Its form also suggests the Borromean (2) ring of French psychoanalyst Jacques Lacan, where each ring represents the unconscious of the subject: the real, the symbolic and the imaginary.

The acquisition of this work was made possible through the bequest of Ginette Trépanier and the generosity of all those who participated in the BIJOUX=ART 2016 fundraising event, organized by the Museum’s Volunteer Association.

DIANE CHARBONNEAU AND CAMILLE DANTIN


1. The first title for the work, Peony, the Knot of Shame, reflects the peony’s symbolism as the “rose of the poor” – that of simple, humble people who stay in the shadows, according to the artist. He later changed the English title to The Peony Knot, which matches the French title.
2. In knot theory (mathematics), the interlacing of three circles to form Borromean rings creates an indissociable set whose symbolism has been used down through the ages and across cultures. If any one of the rings is cut or removed, the two others are freed, resulting in two unlinked rings.

 

The Peony Knot, 2015, Mirrored blown glass, stainless steel
300 x 300 x 200 cm, Photo MMFA Denis Farley
© Jean-Michel Othoniel / SODRAC (2016)

Jean-Michel Othoniel

LE NOEUD PIVOINE PAR JEAN-MICHEL OTHONIEL
PREMIÈRE OEUVRE INSTALLÉE DANS LE PAVILLON POUR LA PAIX

« Le Nœud Pivoine va bien s’intégrer dans son espace du nouveau pavillon à cause du bois qui habille les murs et le soleil qui entre par les baies vitrées. L’œuvre sera visible à l’intérieur comme dans une sorte d’écrin, mais aussi de l’extérieur, notamment le soir quand elle sera éclairée. » – Jean-Michel Othoniel

Le beau et l’émerveillement sont des notions inhérentes à la pratique de Jean-Michel Othoniel qui a fait du verre soufflé son matériau de prédilection. L’artiste français est reconnu pour ses œuvres monumentales, saisissantes, fortes d’une approche formelle qui réconcilie art et artisanat. Le Nœud Pivoine (2015), récemment acquis, se matérialise pleinement dans l’escalier-évènement du Pavillon pour la Paix Michal et Renata Hornstein où sont logés les collections d’art international et l’Atelier international d’éducation et d’art-thérapie Michel de la Chenelière. Cette œuvre phare incarne la vocation même de ce pavillon : « Flottant au-dessus de l’escalier panoramique, cette Pivoine, dont le mot même provient du dieu guérisseur crétois Péan, suscite joie et émerveillement : c’est tout notre programme », précise Nathalie Bondil.

Dès le début de sa carrière, Othoniel démontre une propension pour la métamorphose des matériaux – la lumière, le souffre, le plomb, la cire et l’obsidienne – avant de se tourner vers le verre soufflé en 1993. Créateur d’une œuvre protéiforme – chorégraphie, dessin, écriture, installation, performance, photographie, sculpture –, cet artiste se distingue par un imaginaire hautement poétique.

Othoniel propose une approche contemporaine du verre soufflé et s’intéresse à ses différents états, liquides et solides – rappelant la transmutation des matériaux par les procédés de l’alchimie –, et à sa fragilité. La transformation par le feu de cette matière oblige l’artiste à déléguer le geste créatif au souffleur et à jouer le rôle du chef d’orchestre. Les perles en verre soufflé et coloré, montées en enfilade sur des structures en acier inoxydable, deviennent sa signature. Ses œuvres se présentent sous plusieurs formes incluant des colliers géants suspendus à des arbres à la fin des années 1990, l’installation Le Kiosque des Noctambules (2000) à une bouche de métro de la station Palais Royal – Musée du Louvre et, plus récemment, les sculptures-fontaines Les Belles Danses (2015), installées en permanence au château de Versailles.

Les fleurs et leur sens caché sont des motifs récurrents dans l’œuvre de l’artiste depuis ses débuts, alors qu’il incorpore des matières issues du monde végétal après avoir lu les Métamorphoses d’Ovide et admiré les dessins aux fleurs séchées Ombelico di Venere Cotyledon Umbilicus Veneris (1985) de Joseph Beuys. Lors d’une résidence d’artiste à l’Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum de Boston à l’été 2011, Othoniel accède aux collections du musée où le jardin et les fleurs sont des thèmes récurrents non seulement dans la peinture, mais aussi dans la tapisserie, la ferronnerie, le mobilier, les éléments architecturaux…

La pivoine est omniprésente, et sa symbolique à travers l’histoire et les cultures s’impose. « Considérée en Chine comme la reine des fleurs, la pivoine évoque la noblesse, l’opulence et l’honneur, et incarne l’amour. Représentée par groupes de trois, elle annonce le printemps. La pivoine est l’image de la prospérité et du bonheur depuis la dynastie Tang (618-906). Sous la dynastie Song (960-1279), elle a été appelée “fleur de richesse et de prestige” et son image était reproduite sur de nombreux objets. En Occident, c’est la rose de la Pentecôte. Le Moyen Âge lui a prêté des vertus curatives particulièrement puissantes, notamment pour soigner les maladies mentales et conjurer les mauvais sorts jetés par magie », souligne l’artiste. La pivoine lui inspire cette œuvre monumentale, Le Nœud Pivoine (1), qui fut d’abord présentée en 2015 dans l’exposition Jean-Michel Othoniel: Secret Flower Sculptures à l’Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum de Boston.

Le Noeud Pivoine est une sculpture suspendue de 3 m d’envergure et de 500 kg, composée de 212 perles de verre miroir de couleur ambre, orange, prune, rose et rouge, embrochées sur des fils en acier inoxydable. L’œuvre évoque la volupté de la fleur épanouie. Séduisante par la subtilité de ses couleurs, elle se présente comme une envolée de perles qui semblent se déplacer à l’infini dans l’espace. Sa forme s’inspire aussi du nœud borroméen (2) du psychanalyste français Jacques Lacan, où chaque anneau représente l’inconscient du sujet : le réel, le symbolique et l’imaginaire.

L’acquisition de cette œuvre a été rendue possible grâce au legs Ginette Trépanier et à la générosité de tous ceux et celles qui ont participé à l’évènement de collecte de fonds BIJOUX=ART 2016, organisé par l’Association des bénévoles du Musée.

DIANE CHARBONNEAU ET CAMILLE DANTIN


1. Le premier titre de l’œuvre, Peony, the Knot of Shame, incarne l’une des symboliques de la pivoine, soit une fleur perçue comme la « rose des pauvres » – celle des gens simples et humbles qui restent dans l’ombre, selon l’artiste. Ce dernier a depuis modifié son titre en anglais pour The Peony Knot, qui reflète son pendant français.
2. Selon la théorie des nœuds (mathématiques), un entrelacs de trois cercles forme les anneaux borroméens, un ensemble indissociable dont la force symbolique a été exploitée à travers le temps et les cultures. Si l’un des anneaux est coupé ou retiré, les deux autres se voient libérés, mettant ainsi fin à leur union.

Le Nœud Pivoine, 2015, verre soufflé miroité, acier inoxydable, 300 x 300 x 200 cm.
Photo MBAM, Denis Farley

© Jean-Michel Othoniel / SODRAC (2016)