Joseph Knibb

For several decades now, the Museum has been a proud beneficiary of the Ivory family’s generosity, and the tradition continues with this gift from the son and grandson of Joan and the late Neil B. Ivory. It is with joy and intense gratitude that we recently received from these faithful donors a truly outstanding object: a very rare seventeenth-century table clock by the London master clockmaker Joseph Knibb. Renowned for both the range of his output and his inventive genius, Knibb is an iconic figure in the history of British clockmaking and, by extension, of European decorative arts in the modern era.(1)

Born in Claydon, Oxfordshire, in 1640 to a family of clockmakers, Knibb set up his own workshop in Oxford, where he invented the anchor escapement and the Roman striking notation system.(2) These mechanisms, which enabled clocks to keep better time, brought him a degree of renown and emboldened him to move to London, where he built up a large clientele and made his name. It was in the capital that he began to build small table clocks of great technical accuracy that could be moved from one place to another by means of a handle on the top. In the almost thirty years that he spent in London, Knibb built up a considerable business, employing even more workers than the regulations of the Clockmakers’ Company allowed. He retired from business in 1697 and passed the torch to Samuel Aldworth, one of his apprentices. He died in 1711 in Hanslope, Buckinghamshire.

This clock is one of the most beautiful and rarest examples of the vast number of table clocks designed by Knibb during his career in London. Knibb table clocks are not rare: almost two hundred of them are extant, out of an estimated total of almost four hundred, and they are often to be found on the art market. A Knibb clock can be recognized by the ebony case that reveals the ingenious mechanism. The ornamentation consists of a group of brass figures of cherubs’ heads mounted on wings at the four corners of the face and insets of floral motifs on the dome of the case. However, among this huge number of clocks, only a very few can be assigned to what the historian Ronald A. Lee called “phase II” of Knibb’s oeuvre: the ebony cases are smaller,(3) and, most notably, Knibb replaced the brass of the ornaments with silver. The effect is richer and the silhouette more elegant, as are, we can guess, the miniaturized mechanisms. It is to this outstanding group – of which only five examples have as yet been identified – that our clock belongs.

The clock face and the backplate both bear the signature Joseph Knibb Londini fecit [Joseph Knibb made it in London]. The presence at the back of an elegant brass plaque embellished with floral motifs clearly indicates the maker’s desire to have his work admired from every angle. This clock, a practical object that could easily be moved, should be admired as a sculpture, from the front and the back and on both sides, so the viewer can marvel at the tiny details of its extraordinary mechanism.

SYLVAIN CORDIER


Sincere thanks to Chantelle Lepine-Cercone for her help in researching this object.

1. Ronald A. Lee, The Knibb Family, Clockmakers (1964), p. 21.
2. Clare Vincent and Jan Hendrik Leopold, European Clocks and Watches in the Metropolitan Museum of Art (2015), p. 104.
3. These cases were not produced in Knibb’s workshop but sub-contracted to a cabinet-maker, name now unknown, subject to the clockmaker’s explicit instructions. This explains why we sometimes find them adapted to the mechanisms of other contemporary clockmakers, including Thomas Tampion and Ben Willoughby.

Joseph Knibb (1640-1711)

Table Clock
About 1678-1680
Ebony, silver, brass, velvet
30.5 x 23.2 x 16 cm
MMFA, gift of Andrew Neil Ivory and Nigel Andrew Ivory in memory of Neil Basil Ivory

Joseph Knibb

Depuis plusieurs décennies, le Musée a bénéficié de la générosité de la famille Ivory, et cette tradition se poursuit avec un don des deux fils de Joan et feu Neil B. Ivory. C’est avec joie que nous avons récemment reçu un nouvel objet tout à fait exceptionnel, une rarissime pendule de table du XVIIe siècle du maître horloger londonien Joseph Knibb. Par l’ampleur de sa production et son rôle d’inventeur génial, Knibb est une figure mythique de l’histoire de l’horlogerie britannique et, par extension, des arts décoratifs européens à l’époque moderne (1).
Né à Claydon en 1640 dans une famille d’horlogers, Knibb installe son premier atelier à Oxford où il invente l’échappement à ancre et le système romain de notation par coup (2). Ces mécanismes permettant aux pendules de conserver avec plus de précision la mesure du temps lui apportent une certaine renommée et l’incitent à s’établir à Londres où sa célébrité s’affirme et sa clientèle s’accroît. C’est là qu’il commence la production des pendules de table, de petit format et de grande précision technique, déplaçables d’un meuble à l’autre au moyen d’une poignée située à leur sommet. Installé dans la capitale anglaise pendant près de trente ans, Knibb y développe un atelier très important, employant même davantage d’ouvriers que les règlements corporatifs de la Clockmakers’ Company ne l’autorisaient. Il se retire des affaires en 1697 et passe le flambeau à l’un de ses apprentis, Samuel Aldworth. Il meurt en 1711 à Hanslope.

Cette pendule compte parmi les plus beaux et les plus rares exemplaires du vaste corpus de pendules de table conçues par Knibb dans la période londonienne de sa carrière. Entendons-nous, les pendules de table de Knibb ne sont pas rares. Près de deux cents ont survécu sur une production estimée à près de quatre cents. On en trouve fréquemment proposées sur le marché de l’art. Elles se caractérisent par leur caisse en ébène laissant visible le savant mécanisme, et leur ornementation consiste en un ensemble de motifs de laiton représentant des têtes de putti montées sur des ailes aux quatre coins du cadran ainsi que des appliques à motifs floraux sur le dôme de la caisse. En revanche, parmi ce vaste nombre, seule une infime partie se rattache à ce que l’historien Ronald A. Lee qualifiait de « phase II » de son œuvre : les caisses en ébène en sont plus petites (3) et, surtout, Knibb a remplacé le laiton des ornements par de l’argent. L’effet est plus précieux, la silhouette plus fine et, on le devine, les mécanismes miniaturisés. C’est à ce groupe exceptionnel – qui ne compte plus que cinq exemplaires encore recensés – qu’appartient notre pendule.

Elle est signée sur le cadran comme à l’arrière « Joseph Knibb Londini fecit » [Joseph Knibb l’a faite à Londres], et la présence au dos de l’objet d’une élégante plaque de laiton ouvragée à motifs de fleurs nous indique clairement le souhait du fabricant de voir son travail admiré sous tous les angles. La pendule, pratique et déplaçable à volonté, doit se regarder comme une sculpture, à l’avant comme à l’arrière et sur les côtés pour, au passage, s’émerveiller de la minutie de son extraordinaire mécanisme.

SYLVAIN CORDIER


Un grand merci à Chantelle Lepine-Cercone pour son aide dans les recherches sur cet objet.

1. Ronald A. Lee, The Knibb Family, Clockmakers, 1964, p. 21.
2. Clare Vincent et Jan Hendrik Leopold, European Clocks and Watches in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, 2015, p. 104.
3. Ces caisses n’étaient pas produites dans l’atelier de Knibb, mais sous-traitées à un atelier d’ébénisterie, aujourd’hui anonyme, soumis aux directives précises de l’horloger. Cela explique que l’on en trouve parfois adaptées aux mécanismes d’autres horlogers contemporains comme Thomas Tampion ou Ben Willoughby.

 

Joseph Knibb (1640-1711)
Pendule de table
Vers 1678-1680
Ébène, argent, laiton, velours
30,5 x 23,2 x 16 cm
MBAM, don d’Andrew Neil Ivory et Nigel Andrew Ivory à la mémoire de Neil Basil Ivory