Lorraine Gilbert

It is difficult today to depict landscapes as was done in the past before a certain disenchantment emerged as a result of industrial development, the proliferation of urban sprawl and expressways, and the diversion of rivers and deforestation. Lorraine Gilbert is interested in how we occupy land in Canada. She bases her approach on her studies in natural science, the history of landscape photography and her personal experience as a tree planter, which left a lasting impression on her. Her work could be called a “meticulous look at a land devastated by greed.”

The series “Tree Planters” (1987) was produced in Maniwaki, Quebec, where Gilbert was working with a tree-planting co-op she started with five colleagues. Inspired by the portraits in Richard Avedon’s series “In the American West” (1979-1984), the photographer captures tree planters – men and women – surrounded by nature or against the backdrop of an improvised studio made with burlap bags. The photographs, which were taken using a large-format camera, enabled her to establish her method. She later travelled to Western Canada to continue exploring the possibilities of this rudimentary device using only natural light. The project, entitled “Shaping the New Forest,” also involved a tree-planting crew in British Columbia.

MARCEL BLOUIN


Ill. 1
Lorraine Gilbert (born in 1955), Untitled (Louise with Planting Trays), Maniwaki, Quebec, From the series “Tree Planters,” “Shaping the New Forest” project, 1987, Gelatin silver prints, 1/1, 50.5 x 40.5 cm (each). MMFA, anonymous gifts.

Ill. 2
Lorraine Gilbert (born in 1955), Untitled (Luc with Trees and Gear), Maniwaki, Quebec, From the series “Tree Planters,” “Shaping the New Forest” project, 1987, Gelatin silver prints, 1/1, 50.5 x 40.5 cm (each). MMFA, anonymous gifts.

Ill.3
Lorraine Gilbert (born in 1955), Untitled (Ben), Maniwaki, Quebec, From the series “Tree Planters,” “Shaping the New Forest” project, 1987, Gelatin silver prints, 1/1, 50.5 x 40.5 cm (each). MMFA, anonymous gifts.

Lorraine Gilbert

Difficile aujourd’hui de représenter le paysage comme on le faisait avant que ne se produise un certain désenchantement coïncidant avec le développement industriel, l’apparition des banlieues et des autoroutes, le détournement des cours d’eau ou la déforestation… Intéressée par l’occupation du territoire canadien, Lorraine Gilbert édifie sa démarche sur ses études en sciences de la nature, sur l’histoire de la photographie de paysage et sur son expérience personnelle de « reboiseuse » qui l’a beaucoup marquée. L’ensemble de son œuvre correspond à ce que l’on pourrait appeler « un regard méticuleux sur un territoire dévasté par la cupidité ».

La série « Les reboiseurs » (1987) a été réalisée à Maniwaki (Québec) lorsque Lorraine Gilbert travaillait au sein de la coopérative de reboisement qu’elle avait fondée avec cinq collègues. Inspirée par les portraits de la série « In the American West » (1979-1984) du photographe américain Richard Avedon, elle capte des reboiseurs – hommes et femmes –, en pleine nature ou devant la toile de fond (composée de poches de jute) d’un studio improvisé. Ce corpus, réalisé à l’aide d’un appareil grand format, lui a permis d’établir sa méthode de travail. Elle se rendra par la suite dans l’Ouest canadien afin de continuer l’exploration des possibilités de ce dispositif rudimentaire avec pour seul éclairage la lumière du jour. Ce projet, intitulé « Shaping the New Forest », sera, lui aussi, réalisé au sein d’une équipe de reboiseurs en Colombie-Britannique.

MARCEL BLOUIN


Ill. 1
Lorraine Gilbert (née en 1955), Sans titre (Louise avec caissettes), Maniwaki, Québec, De la série « Les reboiseurs », projet « Shaping the New Forest », 1987, Épreuves à la gélatine argentique, 1/1, 50,5 x 40,5 cm (chacune). MBAM, dons anonymes

Ill. 2
Lorraine Gilbert (née en 1955), Sans titre (Ben), Maniwaki, QuébecDe la série « Les reboiseurs », projet « Shaping the New Forest », 1987, Épreuves à la gélatine argentique, 1/1, 50,5 x 40,5 cm (chacune). MBAM, dons anonymes

Ill. 3
Lorraine Gilbert (née en 1955), Sans titre (Luc avec arbres et équipement), Maniwaki, Québec, De la série « Les reboiseurs », projet « Shaping the New Forest », 1987, Épreuves à la gélatine argentique, 1/1, 50,5 x 40,5 cm (chacune). MBAM, dons anonymes