Nancy Saunders

The installation Katajjausivallaat, the Cradled Rhythm by Nancy Saunders (Niap) will be presented to the public in 2020, upon the reinstallation of the Museum’s Inuit art collection.

Nancy Saunders, who hails from Kuujjuaq, Nunavik, holds a Bachelor of Arts degree from Concordia University, with a concentration in First Peoples Studies. As a talented throat singer, in 2014 she participated in a ceremony held at the MMFA celebrating the Quebec government’s recognition of throat singing – katajjaniq – as part of our intangible heritage. In 2015, she took part in an advanced sculpture workshop offered in Aupaluk, Nunavik, by the Avataq Cultural Institute and the Makivik Corporation. Her work was first shown in the McClure Gallery at the Visual Arts Centre in Montreal, followed by the Shaw Centre in Ottawa. In 2017, she obtained a residency at the École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts in Paris. On her return to Canada, she won a juried competition held by the Canadian Museum of Nature to create a work to be exhibited in the new Canada Goose Arctic Gallery. She was also awarded the 2018 Virginia J. Watt Scholarship from the Inuit Art Foundation.

The Cradled Rhythm consists of three distinct, subtly carved stones suspended above white pedestals by steel wires that are masked by directional lighting. Visitors are invited to use the headphones attached to the pedestals to listen to the soundtrack corresponding to each stone: the sound of the river, kuuvvaluk, for the turquoise stone; that of the wind, anuri, for the pink stone; and the legend of the poor little dog, Qimmiruluapik, for the white stone. The stones are material interpretations (colours, shapes and tool markings) of their respective throat songs that convey the experience of life in the North through music and oral tradition.1 Moreover, the stones evoke the notion of song through the holes visible in their surface, which serve as metaphors for the singers’ throats.The different treatments and textures of the stones symbolize the variety of guttural sounds.

In this work, the artist celebrates her heritage, an important foundation of her artistic approach: “My intention is to show the power and beauty of my ancestral culture, to reaffirm practices of the past, and to bring forth the elements that give it its depth and uniqueness. My work is thus pervaded by themes of identity affirmation and traditional Inuit culture, while incorporating modern elements.2 Beyond the installation’s sensory experience – effected in the near-magical lightness of the suspended stones in contrast with their monumental presence and enhanced by the visitor’s solitary immersion in sound and song – it invites a reflection on the use of the pedestal, a Western convention that is foreign to the Inuit tradition. In fact, in the past Inuit art was generally experienced and appreciated in the palm of the beholder’s hand.

JACQUES DES ROCHERS


  1. Interview with Nancy Saunders by Jacques Des Rochers and Louis Gagnon (Avataq Cultural Institute), May 16, 2018.
  2. Nancy Saunders, “Artistic approach.” A written communication sent in April 2018.

Ill. 1
Nancy Saunders (Niap), born in 1986, ᑲᑕᔾᔭᐅᓯᕙᓪᓛᑦ Katajjausivallaat, the Cradled Rhythm, 2018, Brazilian steatite, wire, sound recordings, headphones, pedestals, various dimensions. MMFA, purchase, Dr. Francis J. Shepherd Bequest. Photo Romain Guilbault

Ill. 2
Performance by Nancy Saunders at the exhibition ᑲᑕᔾᔭᐅᓯᕙᓪᓛᑦ Katajjausivallaat, the Cradled Rhythm, presented by OBORO and Casteliers. Photo Romain Guilbault

Nancy Saunders

L’installation Katajjausivallaat, le rythme bercé de Nancy Saunders (Niap) sera présentée au public lors du redéploiement de la collection d’art inuit du Musée en 2020.

Originaire de Kuujjuaq (Nunavik), Nancy Saunders est titulaire d’un baccalauréat ès arts de l’Université Concordia, avec une concentration en études des peuples autochtones. Chanteuse de gorge, elle prend part en 2014 à la cérémonie tenue au MBAM marquant la reconnaissance par le gouvernement du Québec du chant guttural – katajjaniq – comme patrimoine immatériel. En 2015, elle suit un atelier de perfectionnement en sculpture organisé à Aupaluk (Nunavik) par l’Institut culturel Avataq et la Société Makivik. Son travail est présenté pour la première fois à la Galerie McClure du Centre des arts visuels (Montréal), puis au Shaw Center (Ottawa). En 2017, elle obtient une résidence à l’École nationale supérieure des beaux-arts de Paris. De retour au pays, elle remporte le concours national du Musée canadien de la nature. Elle est récipiendaire de la bourse Virginia J. Watt 2018, décernée par l’Inuit Art Foundation.

L’installation est composée de trois pierres distinctes, subtilement incisées et suspendues au-dessus de socles blancs par des fils d’acier dissimulés grâce à un éclairage directionnel. Des écouteurs accrochés aux socles permettent d’entendre trois bandes sonores correspondant à chaque pierre. De gauche à droite: le son de la rivière, kuuvvaluk, pour la pierre turquoise; celui du vent, anuri, pour la pierre rose; et la légende du pauvre petit chien, qimmiruluapik, pour la pierre blanche. Celles-ci apparaissent comme une interprétation matérielle (couleurs, formes et marques d’outils) des chants de gorge associés qui transmettent l’expérience du Nord par la musique et la tradition orale1. Les pierres évoquent le chant, notamment par les trous visibles qui les transpercent: métaphores des gorges des chanteuses. Les variations de traitement et de texture font référence à la variété des sons gutturaux.

L’artiste témoigne ici de son patrimoine, élément fondamental de sa démarche: «[…] mon intention est de faire valoir la puissance et la beauté de ma culture ancestrale, de réaffirmer les pratiques d’autrefois et d’actualiser les éléments qui en font toute sa richesse et son originalité. Mes thèmes s’inspirent donc fortement de questions liées à l’affirmation identitaire et à la culture inuite traditionnelle tout en intégrant des aspects formels de la modernité2.» Au-delà de l’expérience des sens et de l’impression de légèreté quasi magique des pierres en suspension au-dessus des socles – mais aussi, paradoxalement, de leur présence monumentale augmentée par une écoute en solitaire des sons et des chants –, l’enjeu sous-jacent de cette installation est la reconsidération del’usage du socle. La sculpture inuite l’a effectivemen intégré par le biais de pratiques occidentales alors qu’il ne faisait pas partie de sa tradition. Les qualités de cet art étaient généralement perçues et appréciées dans la seule paume de la main.

JACQUES DES ROCHERS


  1. Entrevue avec Nancy Saunders par Jacques Des Rochers et Louis Gagnon (Institut culturel Avataq), 16 mai 2018.
  2. Nancy Saunders, « Démarche artistique », communication écrite de l’artiste transmise en avril 2018.

Ill. 1
Nancy Saunders (Niap), née en 1986, ᑲᑕᔾᔭᐅᓯᕙᓪᓛᑦ Katajjausivallaat, le rythme bercé, 2018, stéatite brésilienne, fil de fer, enregistrements sonores, écouteurs, socles. MBAM, achat, legs Dr Francis J. Shepherd. Photo Romain Guilbault

Ill. 2
Performance de Nancy Saunders lors de l’exposition ᑲᑕᔾᔭᐅᓯᕙᓪᓛᑦ Katajjausivallaat, le rythme bercé, présentée par OBORO et Casteliers Photos Romain Guilbault