Paul Walde

British Columbian artist Paul Walde is interested in interconnections between landscape, identity and new technologies. Adapting to the context, his artistic practice takes diverse forms, such as performance art, sound art, video installation and even photography. Requiem for a Glacier is a quintessential Walde video that has been shown internationally and in Canada, including at Toronto’s Ryerson Image Centre in 2016 for the exhibition The Edge of the Earth: Climate Change in Photography and Video, curated by Benedicte Ramade.

Requiem for a Glacier is a hymn to the uncertain future of a group of glaciers in the Jumbo Valley. The region, also known as Qat’muk, is located in the Purcell Mountains east of British Columbia.1 Because of their high altitude, these glaciers are so far among the rare few to have escaped the ravages of climate change. However, intensified global warming will cause them to progressively lose mass, and their survival is further threatened by a province-backed project – the construction of a ski resort at the foot of the Jumbo Glacier that includes carving ski slopes down the glaciers’ sides. Walde’swork is a response to these environmental and political circumstances. Filmed on the Farnham Glacier, one of the target sites for the complex, his video comprises four movements that feature an orchestra, choir and soloist. Ironically, the lyrics in the Latin hymns are taken from the government’s press release announcing its support for the controversial project.2

In creating this video, Walde worked with over 50 professional and amateur musicians and singers, who were moved to get involved in the project by its artistic and activist merits. The artist and his musical collaborators wanted to voice their opposition one last time to the extensive land development project while preserving the region’s memory. Writer E.C. Woodley notes how the requiem form befits this type of citizen protest: “As an earthly demonstration of mourning for the dead, a requiem has always been a form of protest. It runs counter to death as it marks it. At the very least, it is an act of resistance against suffering and oblivion. Requiem for a Glacier insists on the necessity of conceiving of a future disfigured by our recent past and present. It proposes that the imagination is essential to exercise if we have any chance of saving ourselves.3 This artwork offers a sweeping immersive visual and auditory experience as well as a new take on environmental protection advocacy.

Walde is a graduate of the University of Western Ontario (BFA) and New York University (MA) and the winner of The Prescott Fund Award from the National Arts Club in New York City. Since 2012, he has served as Chair and Associate Professor of the Visual Arts Department at the University of Victoria, British Columbia. The artist is also a founding member of the Audio Lodge, a Canadian sound art collective, and EMU: Experimental Music Unit, a Victoria-based sound ensemble.

GENEVIÈVE GOYER-OUIMETTE


  1. Official site of Requiem for a Glacier: http://requiemforaglacier.com/audiovideo-installation/ [online] March 2018.
  2. Press release of the announcement dated November 20, 2012: http://jumboglacierresort.com/letters-patent-for-mountain-resortmunicipality-of-jumbo-glacier-resort/ [online] March 2018.
  3. Official site of Requiem for a Glacier: http://requiemforaglacier.com/audiovideo-installation/ [online] March 2018.

Paul Walde (born in 1968), Requiem for a Glacier, 2013, Two-channel HD video, 1/5, Duration: 40 min. MMFA, purchase, Horsley and Annie Townsend Bequest, Ginette Trépanier Bequest, the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts’ Employee Fund, Deirdre M. Stevenson, François R. Roy and George R. MacLaren funds

Paul Walde

L’artiste britanno-colombien Paul Walde s’intéresse aux interconnexions entre le paysage, l’identité et les nouvelles technologies. S’adaptant aux contextes, sa pratique prend diverses formes telles que la performance, l’art sonore, l’installation vidéo ou encore la photographie. OEuvre vidéo emblématique de Walde, Requiem pour un glacier a été présentée à l’étranger comme au Canada, notamment au Ryerson Image Centre de Toronto, en 2016, lors de l’exposition The Edge of the Earth: Climate Change in Photography and Video, commissariée par Benedicte Ramade.

Requiem pour un glacier est un hymne portant sur l’avenir incertain d’un groupe de glaciers de la Jumbo Valley. Également nommé Qat’muk, le territoire se situe dans la chaîne de montagnes Purcell, à l’est de la Colombie-Britannique1. En raison de leur position en haute altitude, ces glaciers sont parmi les rares à avoir été épargnés jusqu’à présent par la dégradation due au changement climatique. Mais l’accentuation du réchauffement planétaire causera une perte progressive de leur envergure, et leur survie est menacée par un projet soutenu par le gouvernement provincial: la construction d’un complexe alpin au pied du glacier Jumbo, comprenant l’aménagement de pistes de ski sur leurs flancs. C’est dans ce contexte écologique et politique que s’inscrit l’oeuvre de Walde. Tournée sur le glacier Farnham, l’un des sites convoités par le complexe, la vidéo se compose de quatre mouvements avec orchestre, chorale et soliste. Les chants en latin reprennent avec ironie le texte du communiqué de presse où le gouvernement annonçait son appui au développement du projet controversé2.

Pour la réalisation de cette vidéo, Walde a travaillé avec plus de cinquante musiciens et chanteurs professionnels et amateurs qui se sont engagés dans le projet pour sa double fonction d’action artistique et militante. L’artiste et les participants souhaitaient ainsi s’opposer une dernière fois au développement extensif du territoire tout en préservant sa mémoire. Par ailleurs, l’auteur E.C. Woodley remarque combien la forme du requiem sied à ce type de protestation citoyenne : « Manifestation terrestre du deuil, le requiem a toujours été une forme de protestation. Il s’oppose à la mort tout en l’évoquant. Tout au moins, il consiste en un acte de résistance contre la souffrance et l’oubli. Requiem pour un glacier souligne la nécessité de se représenter un futur défiguré par notre passé récent et notre présent. Il suggère que l’imagination est peut-être notre dernière chance de survie3. » L’oeuvre offre une expérience immersive d’envergure sur le plan visuel et sonore ainsi qu’une nouvelle perspective sur le militantisme pour la préservation de l’environnement.

Walde est diplômé de l’Université Western Ontario (BFA) et de l’Université de New York (MA), et récipiendaire du Prescott Fund Award du National Arts Club (New York). Depuis 2012, il est président du département des arts visuels de l’Université de Victoria (C.-B.), où il est professeur associé. L’artiste est également membre fondateur de l’Audio Lodge, un collectif canadien d’art sonore, et d’EMU Experimental Music Unit, un ensemble musical basé à Victoria.

GENEVIÈVE GOYER-OUIMETTE


  1. Site officiel de Requiem for a Glacier http://requiemforaglacier.com/ audiovideo-installation/ [En ligne] Mars 2018
  2. Communiqué de presse de l’annonce datant du 20 novembre 2012 http://jumboglacierresort.com/letters-patent-for-mountain-resortmunicipality-of-jumbo-glacier-resort/ [En Ligne] Mars 2018
  3. Site officiel de Requiem for a Glacier http://requiemforaglacier.com/audiovideo-installation/ [En ligne], Mars 2018

Ill. 1 et 2
Paul Walde (né en 1968), Requiem pour un glacier, 2013, Vidéo HD à deux canaux, 1/5, Durée: 40 min. MBAM, achat, legs Horsley et Annie Townsend, legs Ginette Trépanier, fonds des employés du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, fonds Deirdre M. Stevenson, François R. Roy et George R. MacLaren