Quiringh van Brekelenkam

In the late seventeenth century, the Dutch painter Quiringh van Brekelenkam of Leyden was one of the most highly regarded of the Fijnschilderei (fine painting) artists, genre painters who focussed on everyday subjects. A close attention to detail was the primary characteristic of the School of Leyden. Van Brekelenkam’s scenes of workshops, domestic interiors and commercial premises, marked by a deft realism in the style of Pieter de Hooch, make use of subtle chiaroscuro effects learned from Rembrandt and from Gerrit Dou. He was the latter’s first pupil.

A prolific artist, he produced hundreds of paintings that, in the 1640s and 1650s, echoed his teacher’s style; by the 1660s, however, he seems more inspired by the work of Gabriel Metsu and Gerard Ter Borch. His paintings of workshop interiors follow a single formula: horizontal in format and clearly constructed, their space is well defined and the static composition in a limited palette is lit from the left.

The theme of the tailor’s shop seems to have been his specialty. He painted numerous versions – of the thirteen extant, the best known are to be found in Amsterdam, London, Philadelphia and Bonn. (1) In all of these, the position of the master and his apprentices is always much the same, the only variation being in the presence and activity of the women. In its tonalities of ochre and brown with red highlights, our canvas, dating from about 1655-1660, follows the usual composition, with a woman preparing a meal beside the fireplace.
This fine example of scenes of the everyday life of artisans was chosen for the major exhibition Class Distinctions: Dutch Painting in the Age of Rembrandt and Vermeer, presented at the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, from October 11, 2015, to January 18, 2016.

FRANCE TRINQUE


1. Seymour Slive, European Paintings in the Collection of the Worcester Art Museum (Worcester, 1974), p. 89, note 2.

 

Quiringh van Brekelenkam (about 1620-after 1669), Interior of a Tailor’s Workshop, about 1655-1660, oil on wood, 57.5 x 73.2 cm

MMFA, gifts of Mr. and Mrs. Michal Hornstein

Quiringh van Brekelenkam

Le peintre hollandais Quiringh van Brekelenkam appartient aux artistes de la Fijnschilderei (« peinture fine », au sens littéral) les plus considérés de la fin du XVIIe siècle. Ils s’attachent aux sujets quotidiens et leur travail minutieux définit l’école de Leyde. Ses scènes d’ateliers d’artisans, d’intérieurs domestiques et de commerces sont empreintes d’un réalisme délicat à la Pieter De Hooch et présentent de subtils clairs-obscurs dérivés de Rembrandt et de Gerrit Dou, dont il aurait été le premier élève.

Prolifique, Van Brekelenkam produit des centaines de peintures, s’apparentant, dans les années 1640 et 1650, au style de son maître, puis dans les années 1660 à la manière de Gabriel Metsu ou Gerard Ter Borch. Ses peintures d’intérieurs d’ateliers sont créées selon une formule unique : de format horizontal et d’une construction claire, leur espace est bien défini et leur composition statique à la palette limitée est éclairée sur la gauche.

Le thème de l’atelier du tailleur semble être sa spécialité. Il en peint de nombreuses versions – treize sont répertoriées dont les principaux exemples se trouvent à Amsterdam, Londres, Philadelphie et Bonn (1) –, employant une composition où la position du maître et des apprentis est toujours sensiblement la même, seules la présence et l’activité des femmes apportant une variation. Dans des tonalités d’ocre et de marron avec quelques rehauts de rouge, notre peinture, datée vers 1655-1660, reprend la composition habituelle avec, ici, une femme préparant le repas près de la cheminée.

Exemplaire des scènes de la vie quotidienne des artisans, ce tableau avait été sélectionné pour l’exposition Class Distinctions: Dutch Painting in the Age of Rembrandt and Vermeer, présentée au Museum of Fine Arts de Boston du 11 octobre 2015 au 18 janvier 2016.
FRANCE TRINQUE


1. Seymour Slive, European Paintings in the Collection of the Worcester Art Museum, 1974, p. 89, note 2.

Quiringh van Brekelenkam (vers 1620-après 1669), Intérieur de l’atelier d’un tailleur, vers 1655-1660, huile sur bois, 57,5 x 73,2 cm

MBAM, dons de M. et Mme Michal Hornstein