Yoan Capote

With Abstinencia (Libertad) the Museum has acquired an important work by Yoan Capote, one of Cuba’s most innovative and influential artists. Capote’s work has been shown extensively at prestigious institutions and exhibitions around the world.

Capote’s is a wide-ranging practice that involves sculpture, painting, installation, photography and video to create analogies between the visual poetry of inanimate objects and the intangible world of ideas.1 Merging incongruous items, such as human organs and mundane objects, Capote’s work engages in broad philosophical questions about power, politics and the nature of humanity, while remaining deeply rooted in actual human experience.2 Speaking in an interview in 2010, Capote explained: “The common thread in all my work is that it is weighted in the condition of the human psyche.”3

Abstinencia (Libertad) constitutes a poetic meditation on ideas of freedom and migration at the heart of Capote’s broader practice. Bronze casts of anonymous hands forming different letters in sign language are sequenced to spell the word “Libertad” (Liberty) (ill. 1). The word is decodable with the help of the accompanying print of the sign-language alphabet. Together, the sculptures and the print create an allusion to the difficulty common people face in making their voices heard on important social issues.

Abstinencia (Libertad) engages issues of Cuban identity but also speaks powerfully to international crises of migration and civil liberties that are of critical importance to our current historical moment. Produced in five copies and two artist’s proofs, it is the first work by Capote to enter a public collection in Canada.

MARY-DAILEY DESMARAIS


  1. http://www.jackshainman.com/artists/yoan-capote/
  2. Ibid.
  3. Scott Indrisek, “The ‘Mental States’ of America: A Q&A with Yoan Capote,” Artinfo, 22 October, 2010. Interview.

Ill. 1

Yoan Capote (born in 1977), Abstinencia (Libertad) [Abstinence (Freedom)], 2014, Bronze casts, framed engraving and drypoint, 5/5, Installation of 8 casts of hands: 122 cm (approx. width), Framed print: 79 x 55 cm (approx.). MMFA, purchase, Horsley and Annie Townsend Bequest. © Yoan Capote. Courtesy of the artist and Jack Shainman Gallery, New York

Yoan Capote

L’acquisition d’Abstinencia (Libertad), de Yoan Capote, ajoute à notre collection une oeuvre importante d’un artiste cubain, parmi les plus innovateurs et les plus influents actuellement. Son travail a été abondamment exposé dans divers établissements et évènements prestigieux du monde entier.

La pratique de Yoan Capote est vaste et diversifiée : sculpture, peinture, installation, photographie et vidéo lui servent à créer des analogies entre la poésie visuelle des objets inanimés et le monde intangible des idées1. En fusionnant des éléments incongrus – organes humains et objets du quotidien, par exemple –, son œuvre ouvre un grand questionnement philosophique au sujet du pouvoir, de la politique et de la nature de l’humanité tout en demeurant profondément enracinée dans une expérience humaine authentique2. Dans une entrevue accordée en 2010, l’artiste expliquait : « Le point commun à toutes mes oeuvres, c’est qu’elles sont lestées par la condition de la psyché humaine.3 »

Abstinencia (Libertad) est une méditation poétique sur la liberté et la migration, des idées qui sont au coeur de la pratique de Yoan Capote. Des moulages en bronze de mains anonymes forment, en langage des signes, les lettres qui épellent le mot libertad – liberté – (ill. 1). L’alphabet qui jouxte les sculptures permet de décoder le mot. Ensemble, les sculptures et la gravure font allusion à la difficulté qu’ont les gens ordinaires de faire entendre leur voix au chapitre des grands enjeux de société.

Abstinencia (Libertad) évoque avec force, au-delà des questions identitaires proprement cubaines, les crises mondiales touchant la migration et les libertés civiles, crises dont l’importance est cruciale pour notre époque. Éditée à cinq exemplaires et deux épreuves d’artiste, cette œuvre est la première de Yoan Capote à entrer dans une collection publique canadienne.

MARY-DAILEY DESMARAIS


  1. http://www.jackshainman.com/artists/yoan-capote/
  2. Ibid.
  3. Scott Indrisek, « The “Mental States” of America: A Q&A with Yoan Capote », Artinfo, 22 octobre 2010 (entrevue)

Ill.1
Yoan Capote (né en 1977), Abstinencia (Libertad) [Abstinence (Liberté)], 2014, Bronzes, gravure au burin et à la pointe sèche encadrée, 5/5, Installation de 8 mains moulées : 122 cm (larg. approx.), Gravure encadrée : 79 x 55 cm (approx.). MBAM, achat, legs Horsley et Annie Townsend. © Yoan Capote. Courtesy of the artist and Jack Shainman Gallery, New York.