In 1961, the members of the Museum’s Ladies’ Committee began providing guided tours for adults and school groups. The Association of Volunteer Guides of the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts came into being in 1965 and began offering guided tours of temporary exhibitions and the Museum’s collections to visitors.

The Association of Volunteer Guides of the MMFA is under the responsibility of the Museum’s Education and Community Programmes and is represented by an executive that includes a President, Vice-president, Officer for Committees and New Technologies, Officer for Communications and Statistical Analysis and Officer for Communications and Finance.

The Association also organizes exclusive lectures, tours of private collections and cultural trips for its members. Past trips include Chicago, Amsterdam, the Hudson Valley and Rhode Island. The Guides are entitled to attend ongoing training sessions on Mondays from September to April each year. Education and Community Programmes organizes lectures on various topics pertaining to upcoming exhibitions or subjects to help Guides perfect their skills.

This terrific team provides high-quality guided tours that are greatly appreciated by visitors.

  • These guided tours can give an overall view of the Museum or deal with a specific subject such as the design collection, Inuit art, the Middle Ages, or many others.
  • Our passionate guides encourage exchanges and discussion during the tours, and invite you on a great variety of tours of our diverse collections.
  • Guided tours of the Museum collections and temporary exhibitions are offered for groups of adults from many different backgrounds, college and university students as well as secondary students. These tours are prepared by the guides.

Next information session on becoming an MMFA volunteer guide:

Friday, May 4, 2018, at 2 p.m. Maxwell Cummings Auditorium.

All are welcome!

Contact us

For further information:

Linda Goossens
Educational Programmes Officer – Volunteer Guides

E-mail

En 1961, les membres du Comité féminin du Musée commencent à offrir des visites guidées aux adultes et aux groupes scolaires. En 1965, l’Association des guides bénévoles du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal voit le jour. Des visites guidées des expositions temporaires ainsi que des collections du MBAM sont alors proposées au grand public.

L’Association des guides bénévoles du MBAM est sous la responsabilité du Département de l’éducation et de l’action culturelle (DEAC). Elle est représentée par un conseil d’administration composé de la présidente, de la vice-présidente, de la directrice des comités et nouvelles technologies, de la directrice des communications et de l’analyse statistique et de la directrice des communications et de la trésorerie.

L’Association organise également des conférences, des visites de collections particulières et des voyages culturels réservés exclusivement aux guides. Parmi les destinations visitées jusqu’à maintenant, mentionnons Chicago, Amsterdam, la vallée de Hudson et le Rhode Island. Une formation continue est également offerte gratuitement aux guides les lundis de septembre à avril de chaque année. Des conférences organisées par le DEAC proposent différents thèmes en lien avec les expositions à venir ou qui portent sur des sujets favorisant le perfectionnement des guides.

Notre extraordinaire équipe offre des visites guidées de qualité et fortement appréciées.

· Ces visites guidées peuvent donner une vue d’ensemble du Musée ou traiter d’un sujet précis comme la collection de design, l’art inuit, le Moyen Âge et bien d’autres.

· Pour la clientèle scolaire, quatre différents scénarios sont offerts en fonction du niveau scolaire (du primaire au secondaire) et des intérêts de l’enseignant. Ces visites sont scénarisées par le DEAC.

· Des visites guidées de la collection du Musée et des expositions temporaires sont proposées aux groupes d’adultes et d’étudiants de niveaux collégial et universitaires. Ces visites sont préparées par les guides.

Contactez-nous

séparateur
Pour de plus amples informations :

Anne Grace
Responsable des programmes éducatifs – Guides bénévoles

Par courriel