Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Become a Member
Explore today's schedule
Visit MMFA for free by becoming a Member
Learn more

Rate: $10

Webcast - Studio de Musique Ancienne de Montréal

Published in 1638, the madrigals of Monteverdi’s Eighth Book are madrigals in name only. Completely redefining the polyphonic genre of the Renaissance, these exceptional works use a most diverse range of voices, while also calling for instruments, heralding the baroque cantata and its expression that so closely approaches the operatic form. Monteverdi described them as guerrieri et amorosiwhat could be better for such an aesthetic program than to evoke the war of love… its assaults, its conquests, and its ravages of the heart. 

Live and on-demand for 7 days

Rate: $10 

Tickets and information: HERE

A presentatioby Studio de Musique Ancienne de Montréal


Rate: $10

January 24 – January 31, 2021


Studio de musique ancienne de Montréal

Andrew McAnerney, conductor

Marie Magistry, Stephanie Manias, Sopranos

Josée Lalonde, Alto

Nils Brown, Michiel Schrey, Ténors

Clayton Kennedy, Basse

Laura Andriani, Guillaume Villeneuve, Violons

Mélisande Corriveau, Taille de viole

Susie Napper, Basse de viole

Sylvain Bergeron, Théorbe




Extraits du Huitième livre de madrigaux de Monteverdi

Madrigal Altri canti d’Amor, tenero arciero à 6 voix, 2
violons, 2 violes de gambe et basse continue

Madrigal Dolcissimo uscignolo à 5, pour soprano 2 , 2
violons, 2 violes de gambe et basse continue

Madrigal Hor che’l ciel e la terra e’l vento tace à 6 voix, 2
violons et basse continue

Madrigal Armato il cor d’adamantina fede pour 2 ténors et
basse continue

Introdutione al ballo e ballo à 5 voix, avec ténor 3 soliste, 2
violons, 2 violes de gambe et basse continue
– intermède : Tarquinio Merula, Ballo detto Pollicio, op.
12 nº 24 (1637)

Combattimento di Tancredi e Clorinda pour soprano
(Clorinde 1 ), 2 ténors (récitant 4 et Tancrède 3 ), 2 violons, 2
violes de gambe et basse continue

Lamento della Ninfa pour soprano 1 , 2 ténors, basse et
basse continue

Madrigal Ardo, avvampo, mi struggo, ardo : accorrete à 8
voix, 2 violons, 2 violes de gambe et basse continue

Bourgie Hall

Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion

Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
1339 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3G 1G2

About Bourgie Hall

View on Google Maps

Practical information

Contact us

Questions ?

Add a touch of culture to your inbox
Subscribe to the Museum newsletter

Bourgie Hall Newsletter sign up

This website uses cookies in order to optimize your browsing experience and for promotional purposes. To learn more, please see our policy on the protection of personal Iinformation