Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Become a Member
Explore today's schedule
Visit MMFA for free by becoming a Member
Learn more

General Public: $34

Museum Member: $29

34 and under: $18

Bourgie Hall presents

First Book of J.S. Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier - Concert-Lecture 1

The Complete First Book of J.S. Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier

To mark the tricentenary of the First Book of J.S. Bach’s Well-Tempered Clavier, Geneviève Soly will give a lecture to complement four concerts with commentary, leading audiences to deepen their appreciation of the 24 preludes and fugues that make up this corpus, so distinctive in the history of music. Drawing on her skills as an educator, she will direct listeners to grasping the essence of Bach’s profoundly spiritual discourse. Two Bourgie Hall instruments will be used: the Flemish harpsichord by Keith Hill and the Opus 2 organ by Hellmuth Wolff.

Please note that the lecture is offered free of charge to ticket holders attending any of the 4 concerts of the series. To take advantage of this offer, please call 514-285-2000, option 1, or send an email to with your order number.

In collaboration with Les Idées heureuses 

General Public: $34

Museum Member: $29

34 and under: $18

Friday September 9, 2022 at 07:30 pm


Geneviève Solyharpsichord and organ



Prelude and Fugue No. 1 in C major, BWV 846
Prelude and Fugue No. 2 in C minor, BWV 847
Prelude and Fugue No. 7 in E-flat major, BWV 852
Prelude and Fugue No. 8 in E-flat minor, BWV 853
Prelude and Fugue No. 21 in B-flat major, BWV 866
Prelude and Fugue No. 22 in B-flat minor, BWV 867

Add a touch of culture to your inbox
Subscribe to the Museum newsletter

Bourgie Hall Newsletter sign up

This website uses cookies in order to optimize your browsing experience and for promotional purposes. To learn more, please see our policy on the protection of personal Iinformation