Skip to contentSkip to navigation

General Public: $54

Museum Member: $46

34 and under: $28

Bourgie Hall presents

Les Idées heureuses : Complete cycle of cantatas by J.S Bach

Complete Cantatas of J. S. Bach - Year 7

For the fourth time since 2015, Les Idées heureuses takes part in the complete cycle of Bach’s cantatas presented by Bourgie Hall, performing cantatas BWV 146 (We must through much tribulation enter into the kingdom of God) and BWV 31 (The Heavens laugh! The earth rejoices).

These elaborate devotional works both open with an instrumental movement: the magnificent Sinfonia for obbligato organ of BWV 146 (better known in its concerto version for harpsichord in D minor) creates a superb counterpart to the Sonata of BWV 31, a highly festive piece. The Idées heureuses ensemble will be augmented for the occasion by 3 trumpets and timpani, as well as by oboes and extended strings.

Covid-19 | Discover the adapted seating plan and measures

General Public: $54

Museum Member: $46

34 and under: $28

Sunday October 31, 2021 at 02:30 pm


Wir müssen durch viel Trübsal, BWV 146 (transcription of the Concerto in D minor, BWV 1052, with solo organ)
Der Himmel lacht! Die Erde jubilieret, BWV 31


Geneviève Soly, obbligato organ and direction direction 
Odéi Bilodeau et Andréanne Brisson, sopranos
William Duffy, alto
Arthur Tanguay-Labrosse, tenor
Dion Mazerolle, bass


Bourgie Hall

Claire and Marc Bourgie Pavilion

Montreal Museum of Fine Arts
1339 Sherbrooke Street West
Montreal, Quebec H3G 1G2

About Bourgie Hall

View on Google Maps


Contact us

Questions ?

Add a touch of culture to your inbox
Subscribe to the Museum newsletter

Bourgie Hall Newsletter sign up

This website uses cookies in order to optimize your browsing experience and for promotional purposes. To learn more, please see our policy on the protection of personal Iinformation