The Museum’s encyclopedic collection is an invaluable resource for all!

A field trip to the Museum provides an enriching cultural experience. With the guidance of our educators, students will learn to appreciate art more fully and take part in creative activities.

A family outing to the Museum is a great way to spend time together while discovering cultural diversity. In addition to our popular art workshops, we also have musical activities, films and other surprises in store. Families can also enjoy our activities during Spring Break, at our Day Camp, in the StudiO and at Birthday Workshops.
Watch our calendar for details!

Art does you good!

Sharing the Museum is an educational program that offers community organizations working with people who would not otherwise be able to visit the Museum free access to guided tours and workshops.

Education, an essential part of the Museum’s mission!

Cultural activities

Things to do with family and friends
Watch our calendar !

Family Activities

Family Weekends

Every Saturday and Sunday, take advantage of free activities for the whole family!

At the Museum, we know that family time is very precious, so we have prepared a varied program of activities to offer you a memorable cultural experience with your children.

Birthday Party at the Museum?

PLEASE NOTE: THERE WILL BE NO BIRTHDAY WORKSHOPS THIS SUMMER. THEY WILL BE OFFERED AGAIN STARTING IN OCTOBER.

Online media

Watch and listen to our reports and interviews recorded at the Museum

Games

Activities that allow participants
to explore and create

School Outings

School Outings

For Teachers

Educational resources and 2016-2017 School Outings

The Museum’s encyclopedic collection offers an endless array of themes and subjects. In addition, online Teacher Resources are available to enrich your classes and projects.

Virtual museum

Virtual Exhibition

virtualexhibition.ca

This site offers you a chance to peruse the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts’ collection of Quebec and Canadian art.

Educational Displays

Montreal in Love: Embracing Diversity 

On the eve of the 375th anniversary of Montreal, Marie-Christine Ladouceur-Girard reached out to inspiring Montreal-based intercultural couples with the goal of sharing their contributions to our social dialogue. The couples were captured in the midst of their daily lives by the renown news photographer, Jacques Nadeau (of Le Devoir), and talented photographer Mikaël Theimer (Portraits de Montréal).

Mail Art: Poetic Portraits

As part of the programme Une école montréalaise pour tous, the Michel de la Chenelière International Atelier of Education and Art Therapy at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts (MMFA) is presenting the exhibition Mail Art: Poetic Portraits. Students from five elementary schools in low-income neighbourhoods took part in a cultural activity at the Museum to create postal art, an artistic form of correspondence. This educational display features close to 200 postcards in which each participant reveals reveal clues about their identity.

Drawing in the Name of Freedom

The MMFA pays tribute to freedom of expression in the service of peace

Following the murderous assaults on journalists and citizens in Paris in January 7 2015 – the attacks on the satirical magazine Charlie Hebdo and a kosher supermarket causing the deaths of civilians – the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts is reacting. An educational initiative has been launched to encourage reflection on freedom of expression in the service of peace by means of drawing, that powerful universal language.

Courses & Workshops

This winter, we’ve got an exciting lineup of art workshops for both beginners and more advanced artists. Join us for hours of inspired creativity!

View list of courses and workshops

Community Programmes

Sharing the Museum

Sharing the Museum

For almost fifteen years, the MMFA has been offering Sharing the Museum, a free educational experience available to community organizations working with people who would not otherwise be able to visit the Museum.

Semaine relâche

Family Saturdays

For fifteen years, the Museum has worked closely with the government organization Une école montréalaise pour tous. This collaboration has led to the implementation of a programme facilitating access to culture for underprivileged families, who come to the Museum one Saturday a month.

Read more

It consists of welcoming pupils from disadvantaged schools by subsidizing the transportation and cost of the activities, and also by encouraging families in difficult circumstances to visit the Museum. Thus families identified by the organization Une école montréalaise pour tous are brought to the MMFA in specially chartered buses. The Museum provides them with passes that grant free admission to the collections and to all family activities.

Family Saturdays host about ninety visiting families one Saturday per month. Three workshops are reserved for them and six educators are on hand to lead the activities. The programme is already a hit: so many families are eager to participate that Saturdays are often fully booked!

Les collections du Musée, une ressource précieuse pour tous !

Une sortie scolaire au Musée est une occasion unique de vivre une expérience culturelle riche de sens. Bien accompagnés par nos éducateurs, les élèves développent leur compétence à apprécier l’art de manière sensible et participent à des activités de réflexion et de création.

Une sortie en famille au Musée est une façon mémorable de passer du temps ensemble tout en s’ouvrant à la diversité culturelle. Aux populaires ateliers d’art s’ajoutent des activités musicales, des films et autres surprises. Les activités de la semaine de relâche, le camp de jour, le Studio et les ateliers-fête sont aussi très populaires auprès des familles.
Surveillez la programmation !

L’art fait du bien !

Le Musée en partage, une expérience éducative gratuite, offerte aux organismes communautaires agissant auprès de ceux et celles qui n’auraient pas la chance de venir visiter le Musée autrement.

L’éducation, une partie indissociable de la vocation du Musée !

l’Atelier international d’éducation et d’art-thérapie Michel de la Chenelière

Des espaces artistiques et novateurs entièrement dédiés aux familles et aux groupes scolaires !

Calendrier culturel

Conférences, cinémas, visites guidées, expositions
et autres activités à faire en famille ou entre amis.

Activités famille

Week-ends Famille

Tous les samedis et dimanches, profitez d’activités gratuites à faire en famille

Au Musée nous savons que le temps passé en famille est précieux. Nous avons donc concocté pour vous une programmation variée et de très grande qualité afin que vous puissiez vivre une expérience culturelle mémorable.

Atelier-fête au Musée

PRENDRE NOTE QUE LES ATELIERS-FÊTES FONT RELÂCHE CET ÉTÉ. ILS REPRENDRONT EN OCTOBRE. 

Vidéos en ligne

Pour écouter, voir ou revoir nos reportages et rencontres enregistrées au Musée !

Espace Jeux

Des activités d’exploration et de création sous le thème de l’exposition vedette

Programme scolaire

Sorties scolaires

Pour les enseignants

Sorties scolaires et ressources pédagogiques

Le Musée propose aux écoles une panoplie d’activités adaptées à leurs réalités et conçues pour favoriser l’établissement de liens entre l’élève et l’œuvre d’art.

Musée virtuel

Exposition virtuelle

expositionvirtuelle.ca

Une multitude de ressources pédagogiques à votre portée pour découvrir notre collection d’art québécois et canadien.

Présentations éducatives

Aime comme Montréal : Au cœur du vivre ensemble

Présentation éducative du 18 janvier au 19 février 2017

À l’aube du 375e anniversaire de Montréal, Marie-Christine Ladouceur-Girard est allée à la rencontre de couples interculturels montréalais inspirants afin de mettre de l’avant leur contribution au dialogue social. Ils ont été capturés dans leur quotidien par le réputé photojournaliste Jacques Nadeau (Le Devoir) et le talentueux photographe Mikaël Theimer (Portraits de Montréal).

L’ART POSTAL : portrait en toutes lettres

Dans le cadre du programme Une école montréalaise pour tous, l’Atelier international d’éducation et d’art-thérapie Michel de la Chenelière du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal (MBAM) présente l’exposition éducative L’art postal : portrait en toutes lettres. Des élèves de cinq écoles primaires issus de milieux défavorisés ont pris part à une expérience culturelle au Musée dans le but de réaliser de l’art postal, un moyen de correspondance à caractère artistique. Cette exposition éducative propose près de 200 cartes postales et révèle les traces de l’affirmation identitaire de chaque élève ayant participé à l’aventure.

Liberté, Je dessine ton nom

Le Musée rend hommage à la liberté d’expression au service de la paix

Suite aux actes meurtriers perpétrés contre des dessinateurs de presse et des citoyens, survenus à Paris le 7 janvier 2015, soit les attentats contre le journal satirique Charlie Hebdo et un supermarché kasher, le Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal réagit. Une action éducative propose une réflexion sur la liberté d’expression au service de la paix à partir du dessin, ce puissant langage universel.

Cours & ateliers d’art

Cet hiver, nous vous proposons une merveilleuse sélection d’ateliers destinés autant aux débutants qu’aux artistes chevronnés. Vous vivrez des expériences passionnantes sous le signe de l’inspiration !

Consulter la liste des cours et ateliers hiver 2017

Programmes communautaires

Musée en partage

Le Musée en partage

Depuis près de quinze ans, le MBAM propose Le Musée en partage, une expérience éducative gratuite, offerte aux organismes communautaires agissant auprès de ceux et celles qui n’auraient pas la chance de venir visiter le Musée autrement.

Samedis Famille

Depuis une quinzaine d’années, le Musée entretient une étroite collaboration avec l’organisme gouvernemental Une école montréalaise pour tous. Cette collaboration a permis la mise en place d’un programme d’amélioration de l’accès à la culture pour les familles défavorisées, qui viennent au Musée un samedi par mois.

Lire plus

Il consiste à accueillir des élèves d’écoles défavorisées en prenant en charge le transport et le coût des activités, mais aussi à encourager des familles en situation difficile à fréquenter le musée. De ce fait, des familles identifiées par l’organisme Une école montréalaise pour tous sont amenées au Musée en autobus nolisé à cet effet. Le Musée leur offre des laissez-passer pour leur donner accès gratuitement à ses collections, et à toutes les activités famille.

Les samedis Famille accueillent environ 90 visiteurs familles, et ce, un samedi par mois. Trois ateliers leur sont réservés et six éducateurs sont disponibles pour mener ces activités. Le programme est déjà un succès : les samedis sont souvent complets et de nombreuses familles sont intéressées à y participer.