Skip to contentSkip to navigation
Become a Member
Explore today's schedule
Visit MMFA for free by becoming a Member
Learn more

Trajectories

Trajectories is a series of podcasts offering in-depth conversations with Montreal artists. Each episode paints the portrait of a unique art practice. Produced with the financial support of the Conseil des arts de Montréal, the series engages in a dialogue with the Museum’s collection, placing emphasis on the formal and conceptual processes that shape current approaches in artist communities.

Learn more about the series

Episode 1 - Mathieu Lacroix

(French episode)

During this conversation, Mathieu Lacroix reflects upon his artistic practice, which is always related to the very process of creating, whether through the staging of his work or the mise en abyme—infinite reproduction—of materials. Lacroix speaks about the social and political dimensions of working in art, as well as the capitalist codes enfolding it. The artist also discusses his involvement in a number of artists’ collectives and the role of music in his practice.

The artist, Mathieu Lacroix
Credit
Episode 2 - My Van Dam

(French episode)

During this episode, artist My-Van Dam talks to us about her practice and its concern with memory, intergenerational trauma, family and grief. She speaks about the importance of sculpture and materials, which allow her to convey the psychological states she addresses in that practice.

The artist My Van Dam
Credit
Episode 3 - Rita Adib

(English episode)

My conversation with artist Rita Adib deals with the place feminism, power games and anger have in her work. Adib also shares her thoughts on the feeling of belonging in respect to the experience of migration.

The artist Rita Adib
Credit
Episode 4 - Juan Ortiz-Apuy

(English episode)

In this episode, Juan Ortiz Apuy describes his artistic practice, which is concerned with the relationships people have with materiality, the unknowability of the lives of objects and the way in which advertising and design give them powers that make us desire them. Ortiz Apuy also speaks to us about his commitment to teaching.

Episode 5 - Abbas Akhavan

(English episode)

Abbas Akhavan tells us about his practice and how important the specificity of the spaces in which he works is. Through his installations, Akhavan deals with topics and widely distributed images often relating to the wars, such as those in Iraq and Syria, that up until now have characterized the twenty-first century. He uses images of monuments, ruins and war trophies to consider the way in which such images are charged with meaning, as well as how they influence our perceptions. His installations and the materials he favours often reflect the vocabularies of theatre and film production, architectural follies and green screens, becoming portals to the worlds they replicate.

The artist, Abbas Akhavan
Credit
Episode 6 - Miles Greenberg

(English episode)

Miles Greenberg talks to us about his durational performance practice, which primarily uses his own body as raw material. The artist also speaks about the influence sculpture has had on his live installations, and the outstanding figures, including Marina Abramović, Édouard Locke and Robert Wilson, that have mentored or taught him.

The artist, Miles Greenberg
Credit
Episode 7 - Kamissa Ma Koïta

(French episode)

This conversation with artist Kamissa Ma Koïta examines the importance of our relationship with the environment and of traditional and Indigenous cultures in ensuring its future. They outline the path their practice of performance has taken, the institutional critique that informs it and how their performances address the systemic racism and “whiteness” in the art world and society as a whole.

The artist, Kamissa Ma Koïta
Credit

Episode 8 - Ifeoma Anyaeji

(English episode)

This conversation with artist Kamissa Ma Koïta examines the importance of our relationship with the environment and of traditional and Indigenous cultures in ensuring its future. They outline the path their practice of performance has taken, the institutional critique that informs it and how their performances address the systemic racism and “whiteness” in the art world and society as a whole.

The artist, Ifeoma U. Anyaeji
Credit
Learn more about the series

Trajectories provides an opportunity to find out how each artist’s journey has contributed to their creative process. Our guests’ practices connect with the social issues of today as well as thinking in the international art scene. All the conversations open with artists revealing what artwork or experience at the Montreal Museum of Fine Arts has had an impact on them. And it is from this starting point that we begin our trajectory through the world of each of our guests.

Partner

Add a touch of culture to your inbox
Subscribe to the Museum newsletter

Bourgie Hall Newsletter sign up

This website uses cookies in order to optimize your browsing experience and for promotional purposes. To learn more, please see our policy on the protection of personal Iinformation

In accordance with the public health measures in effect, and to enable us to control the flow of visitors in our galleries, online ticket reservations are mandatory.

Skip to contentSkip to navigation

Trajectoires

Visuel de la série balado Trajectoires

Trajectoires est une série de balados qui propose des entretiens de fond avec des artistes visuels de la métropole. Chaque épisode brosse le portrait d’une pratique artistique tout à fait unique. Réalisée grâce à l’appui financier du Conseil des arts de Montréal, cette série est en dialogue avec la collection du Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal et accorde une importance centrale aux procédés formels et conceptuels qui forgent les courants actuels.

En savoir plus sur la série.

Épisode 1 - Mathieu Lacroix

(épisode en français)

Au cours de cette conversation, Mathieu Lacroix se penche sur sa pratique artistique, qui est en relation avec le processus même de création. Que ce soit par la mise en scène du travail de l’artiste ou par la mise en abyme des matériaux, Lacroix dresse un constat à l’égard des dimensions sociales et politiques du processus de création et des codes capitalistes qui l’entourent. Il discute également de sa participation au sein de plusieurs collectifs d’artistes et du rôle de la musique dans son œuvre.

Découvrez l’œuvre de la collection du MBAM qui a nourri la réflexion de Mathieu Lacroix.

L'artiste, Mathieu Lacroix
Crédit
Épisode 2 - My-Van Dam

(épisode en français)

Au cours de cet épisode, My-Van Dam nous fait découvrir sa pratique en nous parlant des thèmes de la mémoire, des traumas intergénérationnels, de la famille et du deuil. L’artiste traite de l’importance de la sculpture et de la matière qui permet d’exprimer les états psychologiques qu’elle aborde dans son œuvre.

Découvrez l’œuvre de la collection du MBAM qui a nourri la réflexion de My-Van Dam.

L'artiste My-Van Dam
Crédit
Épisode 3 - Rita Adib

(épisode en anglais)

Cette conversation avec l’artiste Rita Adib porte sur le féminisme, les jeux de pouvoir et la colère telle qu’elle s’exprime dans son travail. Adib nous livre aussi ses réflexions sur l’identification à l’expérience migratoire.

Découvrez l’œuvre de la collection du MBAM qui a nourri la réflexion de Rita Adib.

L'artiste Rita Adib
Crédit
Épisode 4 - Juan Ortiz-Apuy

(épisode en anglais)

Dans cet épisode, Juan Ortiz-Apuy nous entretient de sa démarche artistique et de son intérêt pour les relations de l’être humain avec la matérialité, la vie inaccessible des objets et la manière dont la publicité et le design leur accordent des pouvoirs qui les rend désirables à nos yeux. Il nous parle aussi de son dévouement à l’enseignement.

Découvrez l’œuvre de la collection du MBAM qui a nourri la réflexion de Juan Ortiz-Apuy.

L'artiste, Juan Ortiz-Apuy
Épisode 5 - Abbas Akhavan

(épisode en anglais)

Abbas Akhavan nous parle de sa pratique et de l’importance que revêt la spécificité des espaces où il travaille. Par ses installations, il aborde des sujets de recherche et des images hautement médiatisées se rapportant souvent aux guerres qui ont marqué à ce jour le 21e siècle, dont celles d’Iraq et de Syrie. Il se sert d’images de monuments, de ruines et de trophées de guerre pour réfléchir à la manière dont ces images véhiculent du sens et influencent nos perceptions. Ses installations et les matériaux qu’il privilégie font souvent écho à la mise en scène, au théâtre, aux folies architecturales ou à des écrans verts qui deviennent des portails vers les mondes qu’ils reproduisent.

Découvrez l’œuvre de la collection du MBAM qui a nourri la réflexion de Abbas Akhavan.

L'artiste, Abbas Akhavan
Crédit
Épisode 6 - Miles Greenberg

(épisode en anglais)

Miles Greenberg discute de sa pratique de la performance longue durée, dans laquelle il se sert essentiellement de son corps comme matière première. L’artiste aborde l’influence de la sculpture sur ces installations vivantes et se remémore plusieurs de ses éminents mentors et enseignants, dont Marina Abramović, Édouard Locke et Robert Wilson.

Découvrez l’œuvre de la collection du MBAM qui a nourri la réflexion de Miles Greenberg.

L'artiste, Miles Greenberg
Crédit
Épisode 7 - Kamissa Ma Koïta

(épisode en français)

Cette conversation avec l’artiste Kamissa Ma Koïta porte sur l’importance des cultures traditionnelles et autochtones et de nos rapports avec l’environnement pour assurer l’avenir de la planète. L’artiste retrace les moments forts de sa pratique de la performance et évoque la critique institutionnelle tout en revenant sur ses performances axées sur le racisme systémique et la « blanchitude » du milieu de l’art et de la société.

Découvrez l’œuvre de la collection du MBAM qui a nourri la réflexion de Kamissa Ma Koïta.

L'artiste, Kamissa Ma Koïta
Crédit

Épisode 8 - Ifeoma Anyaeji

(épisode en anglais)

Ifeoma Anyaeji nous entretient de l’importance de ses origines igbo dans sa pratique artistique. Elle nous parle du « filetage », une technique de coiffure traditionnelle de l’Afrique de l’Ouest, courante au Nigeria, dont elle se sert pour créer des sculptures composées de sacs et de bouteilles de plastique non biodégradables (plasto-art). Elle livre un discours éloquent qui donne à réfléchir sur la manière de résoudre le problème de l’élimination du plastique.

L'artiste, Ifeoma U. Anyaeji
Crédit
En savoir plus sur la série

Trajectoires permet de découvrir comment le parcours et les réflexions de chaque artiste contribuent à façonner sa manière d’aborder la création. La démarche artistique des invités est mise en lien avec les enjeux sociaux d’aujourd’hui et les réflexions du milieu de l’art international. Chaque dialogue débute par la révélation d’une œuvre ou d’une expérience au MBAM qui a marqué l’artiste. C’est à partir de ce point de départ que s’amorce notre trajectoire dans l’univers de chaque personne invitée.

Partenaire

Une touche de culture dans votre boîte courriel
Abonnez-vous à l'infolettre du Musée

Inscription à l'infolettre de la Salle Bourgie

Ce site web utilise des cookies afin d’améliorer votre expérience de navigation et à des fins promotionelles. Pour plus d’informations, veuillez consulter notre politique de confidentialité des données.